Departmental Honors Program

Many departments at the University offer students the ability to complete a Departmental Honors Program. Students interested in participating in a Departmental Honors program are encouraged to meet with the Department Honors faculty coordinator, departmental chair, or Honors College representative preferably during their first year at Towson University.

Departments with Honors programs list requirements in the catalog under the individual major departments. Students accepted into a Departmental Honors Program must complete the requirements listed in the catalog for their major. Most departments require that students complete 9 credits in Advanced Content, Directed Readings, and an Honors Thesis, but some departments may offer other options, such as an extensive design project. The thesis/project culminates in a final presentation before a three-member committee and the thesis adviser and is open to the public. A completed, signed copy of the thesis/project must be submitted to the Honors College no later than two weeks before graduation. When the Honors College receives the thesis/project, the appropriate designation appears on your diploma and final transcript.

More information about the Departmental Honors Program is found in the handbook and on the forms below.   The Departmental Honors Coordinator is listed for each Departmental Honors Program below.




College of Business and Economics
Economics Dr. Matthew Chambers
College of Fine Arts and Communication
Art Dr. Nancy Siegel
Electronic Media & Film Prof. Elsa Lankford
Mass Communications Dr. Beth Haller
College of Liberal Arts
Anthropology Dr. Matthew Durington
Criminal Justice Dr. Marion Cockey
English Dr. Erin Fehskens
Geography & Environmental Planning Dr. Kent Barnes
Law and American Civilization Dr. Jack Fruchtman
Political Science Dr. Paul McCartney
Psychology Dr. Jonathan Mattanah
Sociology Dr. Whitney Garcia
Women's Studies Dr. Karen Dugger
College of Science and Mathematics
Biological Sciences Dr. Erik Scully
Chemistry Dr. Ryan Sours
Physics, Astronomy & Geosciences Dr. David Schaefer


Honors College

Stephens Hall, Room 302 (map)
Hours: Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Phone: 410-704-4677
Fax: 410-704-4916





University Police

Closings & News
410-704-NEWS (6397)

Text Alerts
Sign up now