About TU


PARKING AND TRANSPORTATION SERVICES

Fine Structures

In order to efficiently manage parking resources and help ensure a safe environment on-campus, parking and traffic regulations are enforced year-round.  The university has authority to issue citations on campus under the Maryland Uniform Citation Code.  University citations carry the same weight and importance of any citation issued by a law enforcement agency in Maryland.  Individuals who have outstanding citations may be subject to university sanctions, referral to the State Central Collections Unit (CCU), or administrative holds and fees with the Motor Vehicle Administration.

Sanctions for Sharing a Permit, Registering Another's Vehicle to Your Account, Using a Lost, Stolen, Improperly Obtained or Altered Permit

 

 
 
  • Issuance of parking citation
  • Vehicle(s) is subject to towing and impoundment
  • Offender(s) will forfeit parking privileges for up to one year
  • Offender(s) parking will be restricted for up to one year
  • If parking privileges are revoked, the offender(s) will forfeit any refund for the parking permit
  • If offender was involved in the infraction but was not issued a citation, he or she will be subject to a fee equivalent to a citation assessed on his or her bursar account.
  • Offender(s) will be referred to The Office of Student Conduct and Civility Education or Human Resources, as applicable.

Fines

 

Violation
Fine Amount
Definition
TU Use of Another's Permit/Lost/Stolen
$300

Issued for using and/or displaying someone else's TU permit, including, but not limited to, a permit that has been reported as lost or stolen. Each person must have his or her own permit; permits cannot be shared.

Handicap Use of Another's Permit or Using a Lost or Stolen Permit

(State Regulated Violation)

$300

Issued for using a handicap permit that belongs to someone else. By state law, the handicap permit can only be used when the person who was issued the disabled parking permit is physically in the vehicle. Dropping off the individual at another location, and then parking in a handicap space is not permitted.


Citations may also be issued for using a handicap permit that has been reported lost or stolen.


Offenders must either pay the fine or file an in-person District Court appeal. These violations may also result in criminal charges or other University sanctions. Vehicles in violation are subject to towing and impoundment.

TU Altered Permit

Altered Handicap Permit

(State Regulated Violation)

$300

Issued for using or being in possession of an altered or reproduced TU or handicap permit.

Possession of an altered or reproduced permit may result in criminal charges or other University sanctions. Vehicles are subject to towing and impoundment.

Due to a violation of state law, offenders with handicap citations must either pay the fine or file an in-person District Court appeal.. These violations may also result in criminal charges or other University sanctions. Vehicles in violation are also subject to towing and impoundment.

Shared/Misuse of Permit Violation
$300

Issued when a single permit is used by more than one person, or if a permit is used without following parking rules and regulations.. Each person must have his or her own permit; permits cannot be shared. This violation includes, but is not limited to, the following:

  • 2 or more vehicles registered on a single permit on campus at the same time without separate, valid parking permits
  • Inappropriately registering a vehicle not owned by you or a family member at the same address with the same last name to your parking account
  • Use of a single permit by multiple family members, faculty/staff, or students, whether or not the vehicles are on campus at the same time or not
  • Deliberately registering someone else's vehicle to your parking account.
  • Student or a faculty/staff member uses a visitor department code to obtain a parking permit
  • Improperly obtaining a permit from an agency other than Parking and Transportation Services or a person other than the issuing state Department of Motor Vehicles


Vehicles in violation are subject to citations, towing at owner's expense, and/or impoundment.

Handicap area w/o a Permit (State Regulated Violation)

Handicap Transfer Area

(State Regulated Violation)

$250
Issued to individuals who park in a handicap space and do not display a valid, state-issued handicap permit or license plate.

Issued to vehicles parked in nearby transfer areas, with or without a valid handicapped permit.

Due to a violation of state law, offenders with handicap citations must either pay the fine or file an in-person District Court appeal.. These violations may also result in criminal charges or other University sanctions. Vehicles in violation are also subject to towing and impoundment.

Prohibited Parking

(State Regulated Violation)
$100

Issued to individuals parked in a fire lane, within 15 feet of a hydrant, in a roadway, or on crosswalks. Exceptions are made for marked fire/rescue and police vehicles.

Due to a violation of state law, offenders with prohibited citations must either pay the fine or file an in-person District Court appeal. These violations may also result in criminal charges or other University sanctions. Vehicles in violation are also subject to towing and impoundment.

No Valid Permit
$75
Issued when a vehicle does not display a valid TU permit or does not have its license plate linked to a valid TU parking permit.
Improper Parking Area
$75

Issued to vehicles parked in areas where their permits are not valid or not parked in a designated parking space. This includes, but is not limited to, the following:

  • Failure to have the appropriate TU permit for the lot
  • Parking in a reserved or restricted space
  • Parking in a bus slip
  • Parking in a loading dock
  • Parking at a bagged meter
  • Parking in landscaped areas
  • Parking in other areas not labeled for parking
Relo-Prohibited Parking
$75
Issued for vehicles that were relocated on campus as a result of a special event, posted closure, or improper parking.
Exceeding Time Limit (Loading/Unloading Spaces)
$40
Issued when parked in a loading/unloading meter space beyond the allowed time frame on the meter or the permit.

This violation is also issued for parking at a jammed or malfunctioning meter.

Expired Pay Station Permit (same day)
$20
Issued when parked beyond the time printed on the current day's pay & display visitor permit.
Parking in More Than One Space
$20
Issued to any vehicle that is not parked within the two lines designating a parking space.
Abandoned Vehicle
$20
Issued to any vehicle determined by Parking and Transportation Services to have been abandoned or stored on the property without the approval of the University. Illegally parked vehicles are subject to towing and impoundment.


Parking and Transportation Services

Union Garage

Hours: Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

410-704-PARK (7275) Parking, Events, Shuttle and Charter Bus Information
410-704-RIDE (7433) Para-Transit Services and Requests
Fax: 410-704-3370
E-mail: upark@towson.edu

 

Map

Emergencies
410-704-4444

University Police
410-704-2134

Closings & News
410-704-NEWS (6397)

Text Alerts
Sign up now