Jess & Mildred Fisher College of Science & Mathematics


Department of Biological Sciences

Faculty and Staff

Full-Time Faculty

 

Name & Title Interests Contact Info

Dr. Muktak Aklujkar

Assistant Professor

Bacterial and archaeal genome analysis, metabolism and genetics

maklujkar@towson.edu

410-704-3027

Dr. Virginia Anderson
Professor Emeritus
Scientific and technical writing; assessment

vanderson@towson.edu
410-704-2286

Ms. Cathy Bay
Lecturer

Anatomy & Physiology cbay@towson.edu
Dr. Vanessa Beauchamp
Associate Professor
Plant community ecology; wetland ecology

vbeauchamp@towson.edu
410-704-2286

Dr. Harald Beck
Associate Professor
Mammal-plant Interactions, tropical Ecology hbeck@towson.edu
410-704-3125

Dr. Sarah Bruce
Senior Lecturer

Cell & developmental biology sbruce@towson.edu
410-704-5176
Dr. Mark Bulmer
Associate Professor
Molecular ecology of termites and their symbionts and pathogens mbulmer@towson.edu
410-704-4065

A. Mickey Dehn
Lecturer

Human Anatomy and Physiology, Animal physiololgy, Inclusive instruction methods in diverse classrooms

adehn@towson.edu

Dr. Renée Dickie
Assistant Professor
Vascular biology and tissue growth, repair and regeneration in vertebrates

rdickie@towson.edu
410-704-3368

Dr. Elana Ehrlich
Assistant Professor
Modulation of cellular processes by viruses

eehrlich@towson.edu
410-704-2385

Dr. Brian Fath
Professor
Systems ecology, network analysis, sustainability, environmental assessment

bfath@towson.edu
410-704-2535

Dr. Susie Feldman
Senior Lecturer
Science education sfeldman@towson.edu
410-704-2691
Dr. Donald Forester
Professor Emeritus
Herpetology; behavioral ecology

dforester@towson.edu

Dr. Gail Gasparich
Professor, Associate Dean
Spiroplasma biodiversity; molecular ecology

ggasparich@towson.edu
410-704-4602

Dr. Cindy Ghent
Associate Professor
Science education

cghent@towson.edu
410-704-5918

Dr. Marco Goicochea

Lecturer

Pathogenic microbiology and immunology mgoicochea@towson.edu
Dr. Susan Gresens
Professor
Aquatic ecology

sgresens@towson.edu
410-704-4368

Dr. Sarah Haines
Professor
Science education and environmental education

shaines@towson.edu
410-704-2926

Ms. Pam Healey
Lecturer
General biology phealey@towson.edu
410-704-4586
Dr. David Hearn
Assistant Professor
Evolutionary, developmental, and ecological processes responsible for land plant diversity

dhearn@towson.edu
410-704-2997

Dr. Matthew Hemm
Assistant Professor
Identification and characterization of small proteins

mhemm@towson.edu
410-704-2996

Dr. James Hull
Professor Emeritus
Physiological plant ecology, plant-environment interactions, plant distributions

jhull@towson.edu

Dr. Scott Johnson
Professor
Behavior and biology of birds

sjohnson@towson.edu
410-704-2587

Dr. John LaPolla
Associate Professor
Co-Director Graduate Program
Systematics and taxonomy of ants; biodiversity assessment and conservation; biogeography

jlapolla@towson.edu
410-704-3121

Ms. Mara Lauterbach
Credit Evaluator

  mlauterbach@towson.edu
410-704-3127
Dr. Barry Margulies
Associate Professor
Better long-term therapy for herpes virus infections

bmargulies@towson.edu
410-704-5019

Dr. Laura Martin
Lecturer
Neurophysiology lmartin@towson.edu
Dr. Brian Masters
Professor
Molecular ecology

bmasters@towson.edu
410-704-2035

Ms. Lynn Middleton
Lecturer
Zoology lamiddleton@towson.edu
410-704-4586
Dr. Jay Nelson
Professor
Evolutionary physiology and physiological ecology of fishes

jnelson@towson.edu
410-704-3945

Dr.. Shannon O'Leary

Lecturer

Molecular ecology & conservation genetics and fisheries soleary@towson.edu
Dr. Chris Oufiero
Assistant Professor
Evolutionary physiology, sexual selection, functional morphology

coufiero@towson.edu
401.704.3743

Dr. Roland Roberts
Associate Professor
Systematics and evolution of vascular plants

rroberts@towson.edu
410-704-3034

Dr. Gerald Robinson
Professor Emeritus
Comparative physiology of animals

grobinson@towson.edu
410-704-2373

Dr. Joseph Sanchez

Lecturer

 

jsanchez@towson.edu

410-704-2126

Dr. Erik Scully
Professor
Bioassay techniques for hermatypic corals; dynamics of animal aggregations

escully@towson.edu
410-704-3012

Dr. Richard Seigel
Professor
Evolutionary ecology and conservation biology of amphibians and reptiles

rseigel@towson.edu
410-704-3123

Dr. Jack Shepard
Associate Professor
Co-Director Graduate Program
Neurobiology of the stress response

jshepard@towson.edu
410-704-2394

Dr. Vonnie Shields

Interim Chairperson
Professor

Anatomy and physiology of gustatory and olfactory sense organs

vshields@towson.edu
410-704-3130

Dr. Erik Silldorff
Professor
Hormonal control of capillary blood flow in the mammalian kidney

esilldorff@towson.edu
410-704-3120

Dr. Michelle Snyder
Associate Professor
The slime mold Dictyostelium discoideum as a model for immune cell function

msnyder@towson.edu
410-704-4817

Dr. Sarah Texel
Lecturer
Neuroscience stexel@towson.edu
410-704-3815
Dr. Petra "Peko" Tsuji
Assistant Professor
Cancer prevention with dietary compounds (selenium, flavonoids, etc)

ptsuji@towson.edu
410-704-4117

Dr. John (Jed) Weldon
Assistant Professor
Control of translation by bacterial toxins; toxin conjugates as cancer therapeutics jweldon@towson.edu
410-704-3191
Dr. Laurie Williams-Hogarth
Senior Lecturer
Developmental neurobiology lwilliamshogarth@towson.edu
410-704-4816
Dr. Larry Wimmers
Associate Professor
Director of MB3 Program
Membrane transport in plants and plant response to environmental stress

lwimmers@towson.edu
410-704-2766

Dr. Colleen Winters
Associate Professor
Population genetics

cwinters@towson.edu
410-704-3124

 

Staff

 

Name Contact Info

Cheryl Brown

Laboratory Manager

cbbrown@towson.edu
410-704-4109

Cindy Evans

Administrative Assistant II

cevans@towson.edu
410-704-3044

Darlene Godman

Veterinary Technician

dgodman@towson.edu
410-704-3061

Sarah Grue

Administrative Assistant I

sgrue@towson.edu

410-704-3043

Jaci Thompson

Accounting Associate

jthompson@towson.edu
410-704-2607

Steve Skinner

Laboratory Manager

sskinner@towson.edu
410-704-3037

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

map turtle on rock
 

 

Dr. Rich Seigel and his students are working with Port Deposit to save map turtles along the Susquehanna River.

 

 


 

 

Connect with the Department of Biological Sciences

   

 

 

Map

Emergencies
410-704-4444

University Police
410-704-2134

Closings & News
410-704-NEWS (6397)

Text Alerts
Sign up now