College of Business & Economics

Department of Accounting

Accounting Faculty

Our accounting faculty members specialize in all aspects of accounting. With many of them having experience in the field, they bring real-life examples into the classroom. Their connections to accounting firms assist our students in acquiring internships and full-time positions.

Name and Title Expertise Contact Information
Joseph Szendi
Chair and Clinical Associate Professor
IFRS, management accounting, international accountingjszendi@towson.edu
410-704-3226
Stephens Hall, Room 102B
Barry Buchoff
Assistant Professor
Financial planning, cost accounting, CPAbuchoff@towson.edu
410-704-3228
Stephens Hall, Room 100P
Islam Elshahat
Assistant Professor
Capital market research, bankruptcy prediction, social responsibility, financial accounting, all intermediate accountingielshahat@towson.edu
410-704-2324
Stephens Hall, Room 100B
Martin Freedman
Professor and Director of MS in Business and Accounting Services
Accounting, environmental, financial, social, ethicsmfreedman@towson.edu
410-704-4143
Stephens Hall, Room 100M
Seth Hammer
Professor
Tax accounting, tax policy, tax planning shammer@towson.edu
410-704-3083
Stephens Hall, Room 100C
Norma Holter
Professor
Auditing, activity-based costing, Sarbanes-Oxley, internal auditing, forensic accounting nholter@towson.edu
410-704-4093
Stephens Hall, Room 100E
Robert Kasmir
Lecturer
Structuring complex leasing transactions using FASB #13, financial accounting, CPA rkasmir@towson.edu
410-704-3416
Stephens Hall, Room 123F
Fred Lauer
Lecturer
Administrative law, zoning law, appelate law flauer@towson.edu
410-704-3416
Stephens Hall, Room 301K
Charles Martin
Professor
Accounting, auditing, CPA chmartin@towson.edu
410-704-2064
Stephens Hall, Room 100H
Lasse Mertins
Assistant Professor
Management accounting, performance evaluations lmertins@towson.edu
410-704-4181
Stephens Hall, Room 104F
Irvin Naiman
Lecturer
Principles of Financial Accounting, Principles of Managerial Accounting inaiman@towson.edu
410-704-2323
Stephens Hall, Room 100D
Benjamin Neil
Professor
Criminal law, business law, sports law, real estate law, zoning law bneil@towson.edu
410-704-3065
Stephens Hall, Room 100A
Jin Park
Assistant Professor
Financial accounting, executive compensation, international accounting, environmental accounting, XBRL reporting jpark@towson.edu
410-704-3704
Stephens Hall, Room 100N
Arundhati Rao
Associate Professor
Financial accounting arao@towson.edu
410-704-3231
Stephens Hall, Room 100G
Jorge Romero
Assistant Professor
Accounting information systems, financial accounting jnromero@towson.edu
410-704-2676
Stephens Hall, Room 100K
Donald Rosenberg
Professor
Accounting, business law, tax planning drosenberg@towson.edu
410-704-3726
Stephens Hall, Room 100J
Charles Russo
Assistant Professor
Federal taxation, business valuations, advanced accounting, cost accounting crusso@towson.edu
410-704-5336
Stephens Hall 104C
Andrew Schiff
Professor
Accounting systems, cost accounting, accounting software, QuickBooks, small business/ entrepreneurship aschiff@towson.edu
410-704-3227
Stephens Hall, Room 100L
John Seeberger
Lecturer
  jnseeberger@towson.edu
410-704-2719
Stephens Hall, Room 301K
Michael Seganish
Professor
Business law, elder law, family law mseganish@towson.edu
410-704-3592
Stephens Hall, Room 104B
Arthur Wharton
Assistant Professor
Financial accounting, securitizations, entrepreneurship awharton@towson.edu
410-704-2325
Stephens Hall, Room 104G

Part-time Faculty

Name Courses Taught Email
George Jankiewicz Principles of Financial Accounting, Fundamentals of Financial Planning gjankiewicz@towson.edu
Stacey Kidd Principles of Financial Accounting, Principles of Managerial Accounting skidd@towson.edu
Raymond KitsonWalters Principles of Managerial Accounting rkitsonwalters@towson.edu
Timothy Maurer Fundamentals of Financial Planning tmaurer@towson.edu
Frank Meyer Business Law fmeyer@towson.edu
Robert Scott Legal Environment of Business rscott@towson.edu
Neil Smuckler Principles of Financial Accounting, nsmuckler@towson.edu
Richard Winelander Cyber Law: The Law of the Internet rwinelander@towson.edu
Charles Zorn Principles of Managerial Accounting czorn@towson.edu

 

College of Business & Economics

Phone: 410-704-3496
Fax: 410-704-2300

Office Location

Stephens Hall, Room 218
Hours: Monday - Friday
8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Mailing Address

College of Business & Economics
Towson University
8000 York Road
Towson, MD 21252-0001