Greetings from the Chair

Greetings from the Department of Music at Towson University.

COFAC Buidling

Towson’s Department of Music is one of most consequential comprehensive music programs in the state of Maryland.  The stories of student and faculty success highlighted on our website form a tapestry that is rich in achievement, intellectual rigor, and musical talent.  We welcome a number of new faculty in Fall 2016: Visiting Assistant Professor Elaine Ross, music theory; Assistant Professors Min Jin, voice; and Jason Rigby, jazz saxophone. Michelle Humphreys continues but in her new capacity as Assistant Professor of Percussion.  I hope that you will take time to join us for the collaboration of the TU Orchestra and TU Choirs in the Mozart Requiem, and secure your seat for the Bill and Helen Murray Jazz Residency concert featuring saxophonist Tim Berne, Menotti’s one-act operas, The Old Maid and the Thief, and a concert featuring new music for piano, sponsored by TU’s New Music Ensemble.  As always, we hope to see you throughout the semester at our concerts featuring the Jazz Orchestra, Symphonic Band, jazz and commercial music combos, faculty artists and ensembles.  Kicking off the semester will be the President’s inaugural festivities in September.  We take great pride in our students and alums.  Stay in touch as you continue to make and champion music around the world. 

Eileen M. Hayes, Ph.D.

Professor and Chair, Department of Music