Jess & Mildred Fisher College of Science & Mathematics


Dr. Ryan Casey and Dean David Vanko Our recipient for the Outstanding Faculty Award has been at Towson University for more than 13 years and has shown that he excels as a teacher, a scholar and in service.

As a teacher, the awardee has been actively involved in curriculum development, particularly for the development of the Environmental Sciences program. He has taught a broad range of classes, from introductory level courses for non-majors to upper level electives for majors and graduate courses. Since his arrival he has mentored over 25 students which provides a good crossover between teaching and scholarship.

In the area of scholarship, the awardee has been consistently productive since his arrival at Towson-he has published 20 peer-reviewed publications and given over 80 meeting presentations (often with undergraduate and graduate student co-authors). He has successfully been able to support his research with about $3M in grants (where he was either the PI or co-PI). He was selected by the FCSM for the 2009 Excellence in Scholarship award and in 2011 was the recipient of the Braude Award from the Maryland Section of the American Chemical Society for his involvement of undergraduates in research.

He has been an exemplary citizen of the department, college, and university. Examples of his many service commitments include serving as the department PTRM Chair, chair of search committees, and on the strategic planning and facilities committee. At the college level he has served on the FCSM Undergraduate Research Committee, the college PTRM committee, and the Diversity Action Committee. At the University level he served on the FCSM Dean Evaluation Committee and currently as the Interim Director of the Environmental Science and Studies program.

This award winner completed his B.S. at Virginia Tech with a Major in Chemistry and then earned a Ph.D. in Environmental Toxicology from Clemson University.

It is my great pleasure to award the FCSM Outstanding Faculty Award to Dr. Ryan Casey from the Department of Chemistry.

(As presented by Associate Dean Gail Gasparich at the Fisher College of Science and Mathematics Forum on November 22, 2013.)

The Jess and Mildred Fisher
College of Science and Mathematics
Smith Hall, Room 312 (campus map)
Phone: 410-704-2121
Fax: 410-704-2604





University Police

Closings & News
410-704-NEWS (6397)

Text Alerts
Sign up now