Deans to recognize seven distinguished alumni

Annual awards to be presented May 5

Dennis Mather '72

TOWSON, Md. (April 29, 2011)—Dennis B. Mather ’72, founder and former CEO of the Mather Companies, will receive the 2011 Distinguished Alumni Award for his community involvement, active support of Towson University and outstanding contributions to the group health insurance industry.

Six other TU alumni will also be honored at an Alumni Association banquet on Thursday, May 5 in the Chesapeake Room at the University Union.

The TU Distinguished Alumni Award is presented annually to an alumnus or alumna who exemplifies continued professional development, success in his or her field, and a commitment to Towson University. The award has been conferred since 1958.

After more than 30 years in the insurance industry, Mather is considered to be one its most knowledgeable leaders. He is a member of the Towson University Board of Visitors and former president of the Towson University Foundation. Mather also donates his time and money to community organizations like Baltimore Reads and MSDE for Adult Education, among others.

The following alumni will receive the Dean’s Recognition Awards for 2011:

  • John T. Beynon ’73, creator of Beynon Sports Surfaces Inc. and founder of Towson’s John Beynon Men’s Basketball Endowment, will receive the award from the Jess and Mildred Fisher College of Science and Mathematics.
  • Bradley S. Chambers ’91, president of Union Memorial Hospital, member of the TU Founders Society and supporter for the Challenge for Debate, will be recognized by the College of Liberal Arts.
  • W. Lee Hammond ’60, former teacher, baseball coach, vice principal and principal with Wicomico County and national president of AARP, will receive the award from the College of Education.
  • F. James McGrath ’79, recently retired vice president of human relations for McCormick & Company, Inc. and a member of the TU Founders Society and CBE Advisory Board, will receive the award from the College of Business and Economics.
  • S. Maggie Reitz ’79/’88, before joining the faculty at TU, was a practicing occupational therapist in area hospitals. A fellow of the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA), she has presented internationally on ethics, disaster preparedness, health promotion and occupational therapy theory, and served as president of the Maryland Occupational Therapy Association and chair of the AOTA Commission on Standards and Ethics.
  • Kemba Anika Shannon ’97, internationally-renowned Broadway and film dancer, choreographer and teacher, will receive the award from the College of Fine Arts and Communication.

The Dean’s Recognition Awards are presented annually to TU alumni who have distinguished themselves through superior professional growth and accomplishment in their fields. One recipient is selected by the dean of each of the university’s colleges. Honorees represent commitment and excellence in a diversity of professional disciplines.






University Police

Closings & News
410-704-NEWS (6397)

Text Alerts
Sign up now