NEWSROOM

New TV ad shows how maps can manage emergencies


Emergency managers throughout the mid-Atlantic use TU's mapping solution

TOWSON, Md. (Sept. 10, 2008)—Beginning this fall, a new TV ad will show how Towson University helps decision makers in government and in emergency operations centers coordinate efforts when disasters strike. The 30-second ad describes EMMA, the ground-breaking emergency management mapping software developed by researchers at the Center for GIS at Towson University. EMMA is a Web-based tool that delivers the real-time information needed in emergencies like hurricanes, power outages and major transportation incidents.

Part of the university’s highly successful Thinking Outside campaign, the commercial will air on WJZ and ESPN during Ravens’ games, and on NFL Monday Night Football broadcasts as well as NFL Countdown and Sports Center. 

We continue to tell our story as TU responds to needs of the region—forging partnerships with businesses, nonprofit organizations and governments to address a number of community issues.

 

 

When to Watch      
Mon., Nov. 24 ESPN-TV Monday Night Football 8:30-11:30 p.m.
Tues., Nov. 25

ESPN-TV

Sportscenter 5 - 9 a.m.
Sun., Nov. 30 WJZ-TV CBS Ravens Sunday Football 1 - 4 p.m.
Sun., Nov. 30 ESPN-TV NFL Countdown noon - midnight
Mon., Dec. 1 ESPN-TV Monday Night Football 8:30-11:30 p.m.
Tues., Dec. 2

ESPN-TV

Sportscenter 5 - 9 a.m.
Sun., Dec. 7 WBFF-TV FOX Ravens Sunday Football 1 - 4 p.m.
Mon., Dec. 8 ESPN-TV Monday Night Football 8:30-11:30 p.m.
Tues., Dec. 9

ESPN-TV

Sportscenter 5 - 9 a.m.
Sun., Dec. 14 WJZ-TV CBS Ravens Sunday Football 1 - 4 p.m.
Sun., Dec. 14 ESPN-TV NFL Countdown noon - midnight
Tues., Dec. 16 ESPN-TV Sportscenter 5 - 9 a.m.
Mon., Dec. 22

ESPN-TV

Monday Night Football 8:30-11:30 p.m.
Tues., Dec. 23

ESPN-TV

Sportscenter 5 - 9 a.m.

Note: Times and schedules are subject to change

 

 








 

Map

Emergencies
410-704-4444

University Police
410-704-2134

Closings & News
410-704-NEWS (6397)

Text Alerts
Sign up now