TU awards 2007 literature prize to Ron Tanner

Local fictionwriter and essayist to give reading at TU

TOWSON, Md. (Oct. 31, 2007)— Towson University’s Department of English has chosen Ron Tanner’s collection of short stories, A Bed of Nails, as the winner of the 2007 Towson University Prize for Literature. Tanner will give a reading on Thursday, Nov. 15, at 4 p.m. in the Susquehanna Terrace room of TU’s University Union.

Fiction writer and essayist Ron Tanner has published stories in such magazines as The Iowa Review, The Massachusetts Review, The Literary Review, Story Quarterly and dozens of others. His work has been anthologized in Best of the West, the Pushcart Prizes, and Twenty Under Thirty: Early Work of America's Influential Writers. Awards for his short fiction include a James Michener Fellowship from the Iowa Writers' Workshop, first prize in the New Letters national fiction competition, gold medal in the Pirate's Alley Faulkner Society national competition for short fiction, and many others. A Bed of Nails, his first collection of short stories, was also honored with the first-annual G. S. Sharat Chandra Prize, sponsored by BkMk Press at the University of Missouri-Kansas City.

Tanner is the chairman of the Department of Writing at Loyola College. He lives in Baltimore’s Charles Village neighborhood – with his wife and their many pets – in a large Victorian brownstone that was a dilapidated, former frat house when they found it in 1999. After several years of intensive work, they have revived the house. In his free time, Ron works on the house, collects old books, haunts flea markets for antiques, and plays drums in his six-piece jazz band, Jazz Caravan.

Established in 1979 with a grant from Alice and Franklin Cooley, the Towson University Prize for Literature is awarded annually for a single book or book-length manuscript of fiction, poetry, drama or imaginative non-fiction by a Maryland writer. The $1,000 prize is designed to enhance the knowledge and appreciation of contemporary literature and is granted on the basis of literary and aesthetic excellence as determined by a panel of distinguished judges appointed by the university. The first award, made in the fall of 1980, went to novelist Anne Tyler.











Previous Featured Article
Next Featured Article




University Police

Closings & News
410-704-NEWS (6397)

Text Alerts
Sign up now