TU presents Urinetown: The Musical

Musical to run Nov. 30 through Dec. 9


TOWSON, Md. (Nov. 27, 2006)—The Towson University Department of Theatre Arts presents Urinetown: The Musical by Greg Kotis and Mark Hollmann on Thursday, Nov. 30, through Saturday, Dec. 2, at 8 p.m.; Sunday, Dec. 3, at 2 p.m.; and Wednesday, Dec. 6 through Saturday, Dec. 9, at 8 p.m. in the Center for the Arts Mainstage Theatre located on the corneUrinetown: The Musicalr of Osler and Cross Campus drives.

Urinetown: The Musical comically depicts a world wracked by ecological disaster, caught in the throes of corporate greed, and ultimately felled by the best intentions. In a Gotham-like city, a depletion of the earth’s water supply has led to a government-enforced ban on private toilets. The privilege to pee is regulated by a single malevolent company that profits by charging admission for one of humanity’s most basic needs.

The show features music by Hollman, lyrics by Hollman and Kotis. It debuted at the New York International Fringe Festival, was produced Off-Broadway at the American Theatre for Actors and then moved to Broadway, opening at the Henry Miller Theatre on Sept. 20, 2001 (its planned opening having been postponed after the Sept. 11 attacks). It ran on Broadway through Jan. 18, 2004, closing with a total of 24 previews and 965 performances.

The music won three Tony Awards: Best Director (John Rando); Best Original Score (Mark Hollmann and Greg Kotis); and Best Book of a Musical, (Greg Kotis). It was nominated for an additional six Toneys: Best Musical; Best Actor in a Musical (John Cullum); Best Actress in a Musical (Nancy Opel and Jennifer Laura Thompson); Best Featured Actress in a Musical (Spencer Kayden), Best Choreography (John Carrafa), and Best Orchestrations (Bruce Coughlin).

The show is meant to be a comedy, featuring satire of the corporate world, sight gags, parodies of musical threatre conventions in general and Les Misérables in particular, and jokes that poke fun at the show itself including the unattractive title.

The artistic staff includes James Hunnicutt, director; Daniel Ettinger, scenic design; Jay Herzog, lighting design; Anthony Rosas, technical director; Melanie Lester, costume design; Cheryl Partridge, costumier; Elizabeth Fink, musical director; and Brenda Leach, conductor.
The cast includes Alex Kliner, Chris Rudy, Nick Staigerwald, Will Parquette, Danielle Robinette, Brandon Beatty, Bobby Libby, Jaclyn Keough, Ryan Haase, Brad Burgess, Elisa Dugan, Andred Peters, Jason Beall, Jennie Beck, Ryan Airey, Lauren Pierce, Jayne Harris, Jonathan Sheffenacker, Rachael Conrad, David Haywood Strother, Valerie Westall Sale and Amanda Rife.

For ticket charges and additional information, please call 410-704-2787. Tickets are $12 for general admission and $7 for students and senior citizens and are available at the Center for the Arts Box Office. Box Office hours are noon to 4 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday and one hour prior to events. Tickets can be purchased on the Web at



< Previous Featured Story | Next Featured Story >


Previous Featured Article
Next Featured Article




University Police

Closings & News
410-704-NEWS (6397)

Text Alerts
Sign up now