Jess & Mildred Fisher College of Science & Mathematics


Department of Mathematics

Faculty and Staff

Full-Time Faculty

The Department of Mathematics is proud of having an excellent full-time faculty with wide ranging interests and specialties.  These faculty and staff are fully committed to scholarship, teaching and providing our students with an outstanding educational experience.

Name & Title Interests
Jean-Martin Albert
Visiting Assistant Professor
continuous logic and applications to algebra and algebraic geometry

Mostafa Aminzadeh
Professor

predictive inference, linear models, reliability

Honi J. Bamberger
Professor

improving teachers ability to teach mathematics in under achieving schools

Sergiy Borodachov
Associate Professor
approximation theory, geometric measure theory, applied harmonic analysis

Raouf N. Boules
Professor & Chairperson

spectral estimation theory, Fourier analysis, optimal filtering, electrodynamics

Diana S. Cheng
Assistant Professor
middle school student's learning of mathematical concepts, mathematical learning of pre-service elementary school teachers

John Chollet
Professor

linear and multilinear algebra, matrix theory

Linda L. Cooper
Associate Professor & Co-Director of the Towson UTeach Program

teaching statistics in K-16 education, interpretation of center and variability in graphical displays, integration of mathematical concepts in science and geography activities

Elizabeth Goode
Associate Professor

DNA splicing systems, models of biomolecular computation

Geoffrey R. Goodson
Professor

ergodic theory, dynamical systems, matrix theory, operator theory

Lynn Habicht
Lecturer
mathematics education
Ge Han
Associate Professor

applied mathematics, financial mathematics, differential equations

Xuezhang (John) Hou
Professor

system control theory, semigroup of linear operators, differential equations

Justin Hughes
Lecturer
group theory using a computational approach
Min Ji
Assistant Professor
joint-life mortality models, managing demography/longevity risks in insurance and financial products
Ellen Johnson
Lecturer
mathematics education
Laura Joseph
Lecturer
mathematics education
Gail Kaplan
Professor

mathematics education

Ohoe Kim
Professor

stochastic processes and mathematical finance

Alexei Kolesnikov
Associate Professor

mathematical logic, model theory
R. Michael Krach
Professor

staff development activities in mathematics education

Angel V. Kumchev
Associate Professor & Director of the Applied Mathematics Laboratory

additive number theory, sieves, the distribution of primes, and analytic number theory in number fields

Froma B. Lustman
Lecturer

biostatistics

Judith G. Macks
Lecturer

mathematics education

Stanley Max
Lecturer
geostatistics
Coy L. May
Professor

group actions on surfaces, topological aspects of graph theory

Todd Moyer
Associate Professor

teacher education, incorporating technology into the curriculum

Michael O'Leary
Professor & Graduate Director of the Center for Applied Information Technology

applied mathematics, including partial differential equations, fluid dynamics and computer security

Moustapha Pemy
Associate Professor & Director of the Masters Program in Applied and Industrial Mathematics

stochastic analysis, control theory, financial mathematics, Markov switching, free boundary problems, nonlinear functional analysis

Lynn Anne Rice
Lecturer

mathematics education

Reza Sarhangi
Professor

mathematics education, control theory, mathematical connections in art, music and science

Lawrence H. Shirley
Professor and Co-Assistant Chairperson

ethnomathematics, mathematics teacher education and curriculum implementation, history of mathematics

Felice S. Shore
Associate Professor and
Co-Assistant Chairperson

mathematics education, continuing professional development for in-service teachers

Martha J. Siegel
Professor

applied probability, mathematical models, college mathematics curriculum reform

Houshang H. Sohrab
Professor

functional analysis, normal solvability of partial (and pseudo) differential equations

Tatyana Sorokina
Associate Professor

approximation theory (splines), computer aided geometric design, numerical analysis

Sandy M. Spitzer
Associate Professor
pre-service teacher education, technology use in mathematics education, algebra learning and teaching
Leonid Stern
Professor

algebraic number theory, Galois theory

Wei Sun
Professor

mathematics education

Ming C. Tomayko
Associate Professor

mathematics education, teacher induction, professional development

Mircea D. Voisei
Associate Professor

nonlinear analysis, optimization, ordinary partial differential equations
Xiaoyin Wang
Associate Professor

statistics and Bayesian analysis

Nicole Winner
Lecturer
mathematics education
Maureen Yarnevich
Professor & Director of the Masters Program in Mathematics Education

mathematics education

Jay J. Zimmerman
Professor

group theory, geometry and group actions on compact surfaces

A listing of some of the research publications and presentation by our faculty can be accessed on the

Faculty and Student Research Web Page.

Full-Time Staff

The Department of Mathematics is proud of having an excellent full-time staff who are fully committed to providing our students and faculty with outstanding service.

Name & Title Interests
Diana Bohle
Administrative Assistant I
mini-schnauzers

Richard Brown
Lab Manager

computer technology

Trudy Guetler
Secretary
grandchildren, bicycling, pilates
   

Adjunct Faculty

The Department of Mathematics has a cadre of superb adjunct faculty renowned for their subject matter knowledge, teaching skill, and dedication to the success and well being of our students. These adjunct faculty are fully committed to scholarship, teaching and providing our students with an outstanding educational experience.

Name E-mail Address Telephone
Mr. Shaun Allan sallan@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Mehri Arfaei marfaei@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. David Buchoff dbuchoffn@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Gerald Cohen gcohen@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Jerome Cohen jcohen@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Julien Colvin jcolvin@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Dr. Joseph Cutrone jcutrone@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Eric Depkin edepkin@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Dr. Nancy Doub ndoub@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Ephraim Eisenberger eeisenberger@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Dr. Ali Emdadi aemdadi@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Matthew Estelle mestelle@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Glenn Fink gfink@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Michael Gallagher mgallagher@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. April George ageorge@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Dr. Nino Ghurtskaia nghurtskaia@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Rosaleen Gilmore rgilmore@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Stephen Ginaitis sginaitis@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Joyce Goodson jgoodson@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Jonathan Graf jgraf@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Jeffrey Grell jgrell@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Rachael Gross rgross@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Dr. Russell Hendel rhendel@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Angelica Hodge ahodge@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Stefanie Hunt shunt@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Teresa Joiner tjoiner@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Valentina July vjuly@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Dr. Mark Kaplan kaplan@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Dr. Ilya Kerzhner ikerzhner@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Dr. Ezatollah Keyvan-Larijani ekeyvanlarijani@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Mary Kay Kirchner mkirchner@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Maleeta Kitchen mkitchen@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Dr. Luis Lima llima@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Rachel Malinauskas rmalinauskas@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Clement Manuelpillai cmanuelpillai@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Ivan Markowitz imarkowitz@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Matt Martini mmartini@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Charles McKinney cwmckinney@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Carol Muller cmuller@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Erica O'Leary eoleary@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Sheila Orshan sorshan@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Cris Packard cpackard@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Eric Partridge epartridge@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Michelle Pasko mpasko@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Victoria Phillips vphillips@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Brian Ray bdray@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Richard Rosenthal rrosenthal@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Martin Rosman mrosman@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Bianca Salemi bsalemi@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Thomas Sales tsales@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. John SanGiovanni jsangiovanni@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Vadim Shilov vshilov@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Brenda Shlian bshlian@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Karen Shrake kshrake@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Mark Spindler mspindler@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Sandrine Tchatie stchatiemainsah@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Joan Tellish jtellish@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Steve Thorpe jthorpe@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Gregory Timm gtimm@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Sherry Triman striman@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Gary Viener gviener@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Dr. Scott Wittelsberger swittelsberger@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Guven Yilmaz gyilmaz@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Alice Zhang azhang@towson.edu 410-704-3091
     

Emeritus Faculty

Name & Title Retirement Date E-mail Address
James Coughlin
Professor Emeritus
December 2007 jcoughlin@towson.edu
Jerome Cohen
Faculty Emeritus
May 2013 jcohen@towson.edu
John Grant
Professor Emeritus
May 2014 jgrant@towson.edu
William Rose
Professor Emeritus

May 2014 wirose@towson.edu
     

 

Department of Mathematics
7800 York Road, Room 316 (campus map)
Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Phone: 410-704-3091
Fax: 410-704-4149
E-mail: math@towson.edu



Online Faculty Handbook

Full-Time Faculty Handbook of the Department of Mathematics

Adjunct Faculty Handbook of the Department of Mathematics

Map

Emergencies
410-704-4444

University Police
410-704-2134

Closings & News
410-704-NEWS (6397)

Text Alerts
Sign up now