Jess & Mildred Fisher College of Science & Mathematics


Department of Mathematics

Faculty and Staff

Full-Time Faculty

The Department of Mathematics is proud of having an excellent full-time faculty with wide ranging interests and specialties.  These faculty and staff are fully committed to scholarship, teaching and providing our students with an outstanding educational experience.

Name & Title Interests
Mostafa Aminzadeh
Professor
predictive inference, linear models, reliability
Honi J. Bamberger
Professor
improving teachers ability to teach mathematics in under achieving schools
Sergiy Borodachov
Associate Professor
approximation theory, geometric measure theory, applied harmonic analysis
David Buchoff
Lecturer
introductory mathematics
Yuriy Bulka
Lecturer
numerical analysis and integral equations
Diana S. Cheng
Assistant Professor
middle school student's learning of mathematical concepts, mathematical learning of pre-service elementary school teachers
Linda L. Cooper
Associate Professor & Co-Director of the Towson UTeach Program
teaching statistics in K-16 education, interpretation of center and variability in graphical displays, integration of mathematical concepts in science and geography activities
Yunwei Cui
Assistant Professor
mathematical statistics
Elizabeth Goode
Associate Professor
DNA splicing systems, models of biomolecular computation
Geoffrey R. Goodson
Professor
ergodic theory, dynamical systems, matrix theory, operator theory
Lynn Habicht
Lecturer
mathematics education
Ge Han
Associate Professor
applied mathematics, financial mathematics, differential equations
Xuezhang (John) Hou
Professor
system control theory, semigroup of linear operators, differential equations
Justin Hughes
Lecturer
group theory using a computational approach
Min Ji
Assistant Professor
joint-life mortality models, managing demography/longevity risks in insurance and financial products
Ellen Johnson
Lecturer
mathematics education
Laura Joseph
Lecturer
mathematics education
Gail Kaplan
Professor
mathematics education
Ohoe Kim
Professor
stochastic processes and mathematical finance
Alexei Kolesnikov
Associate Professor
mathematical logic, model theory
R. Michael Krach
Professor
staff development activities in mathematics education
Angel V. Kumchev
Associate Professor & Director of the Applied Mathematics Laboratory
additive number theory, sieves, the distribution of primes, and analytic number theory in number fields
Froma B. Lustman
Lecturer
biostatistics
Judith G. Macks
Lecturer
mathematics education
Stanley Max
Lecturer
geostatistics
Coy L. May
Professor
group actions on surfaces, topological aspects of graph theory
Nathan G. McNew
Assistant Professor
analytic and combinatorial number theory
Todd Moyer
Associate Professor
teacher education, incorporating technology into the curriculum
Michael O'Leary
Professor & Chairperson
applied mathematics, including partial differential equations, fluid dynamics and computer security
Moustapha Pemy
Associate Professor & Director of the Masters Program in Applied and Industrial Mathematics
stochastic analysis, control theory, financial mathematics, Markov switching, free boundary problems, nonlinear functional analysis
Lynn Anne Rice
Lecturer
mathematics education
Reza Sarhangi
Professor
mathematics education, control theory, mathematical connections in art, music and science
Lawrence H. Shirley
Professor
ethnomathematics, mathematics teacher education and curriculum implementation, history of mathematics
Felice S. Shore
Associate Professor and
Assistant Chairperson
mathematics education, continuing professional development for in-service teachers
Houshang H. Sohrab
Professor
functional analysis, normal solvability of partial (and pseudo) differential equations
Tatyana Sorokina
Associate Professor
approximation theory (splines), computer aided geometric design, numerical analysis
Sandy M. Spitzer
Associate Professor
pre-service teacher education, technology use in mathematics education, algebra learning and teaching
Leonid Stern
Professor
algebraic number theory, Galois theory
Wei Sun
Professor
mathematics education
Ming C. Tomayko
Associate Professor
mathematics education, teacher induction, professional development
Mircea D. Voisei
Associate Professor
nonlinear analysis, optimization, ordinary partial differential equations
Rajeev Walia
Lecturer
algebra and representation theory
Xiaoyin Wang
Associate Professor
statistics and Bayesian analysis
Nicole Winner
Lecturer
mathematics education
Maureen Yarnevich
Professor & Director of the Masters Program in Mathematics Education
mathematics education
Jay J. Zimmerman
Professor
group theory, geometry and group actions on compact surfaces
   

A listing of some of the research publications and presentation by our faculty can be accessed on the

Faculty and Student Research Web Page.

Full-Time Staff

The Department of Mathematics is proud of having an excellent full-time staff who are fully committed to providing our students and faculty with outstanding service.

Name & Title Interests
Barb Sauer
Administrative Assistant II
Baltimore Orioles baseball
Diana Bohle
Administrative Assistant I
mini-schnauzers
Richard Brown
Lab Manager
computer technology
Trudy Guetler
Secretary
grandchildren, bicycling, pilates
   

Part-Time Faculty

The Department of Mathematics has a cadre of superb part-time faculty renowned for their subject matter knowledge, teaching skill, and dedication to the success and well being of our students. These part-time faculty are fully committed to scholarship, teaching and providing our students with an outstanding educational experience.

Name E-mail Address Telephone
Mr. Shaun Allan sallan@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Jeremy Boettinger jboettinger@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Jeremy Carlino jcarlino@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Gerald Cohen gcohen@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Jerome Cohen jcohen@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Julien Colvin jcolvin@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Dr. Joseph Cutrone jcutrone@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Dr. Richard Davis rdavis@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Dr. Nancy Doub ndoub@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Ephraim Eisenberger eeisenberger@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Glenn Fink gfink@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Michael Gallagher mgallagher@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Malkeet Gary mgary@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. April George ageorge@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Dr. Nino Ghurtskaia nghurtskaia@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Stephen Ginaitis sginaitis@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Joyce Goodson jgoodson@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Jeffrey Grell jgrell@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Dr. Russell Hendel rhendel@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Angelica Hodge ahodge@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Teresa Joiner tjoiner@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Valentina July vjuly@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Dr. Mark Kaplan kaplan@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Dr. Ilya Kerzhner ikerzhner@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Dr. Ezatollah Keyvan-Larijani ekeyvanlarijani@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Mary Kay Kirchner mkirchner@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Maleeta Kitchen mkitchen@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Dr. Luis Lima llima@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Ivan Markowitz imarkowitz@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Matt Martini mmartini@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Charles McKinney cwmckinney@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Callie Morreau cmorreau@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Brandon Myers bmyers@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Erica O'Leary eoleary@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Sheila Orshan sorshan@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Cris Packard cpackard@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Eric Partridge epartridge@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Victoria Phillips vphillips@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Brian Ray bdray@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Richard Rosenthal rrosenthal@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Martin Rosman mrosman@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Thomas Sales tsales@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Palak Sanghvi psanghvi@towson.edu 410-704-4557
Mr. Vadim Shilov vshilov@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Brenda Shlian bshlian@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Dr. Clarke Tankersley ctankersley@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Sandrine Tchatie stchatiemainsah@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Steve Thorpe jthorpe@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Gregory Timm gtimm@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Sherry Triman striman@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Gary Viener gviener@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Ms. Elizabeth Waltman ewaltman@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Ned Wilson nwilson@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Dr. Scott Wittelsberger swittelsberger@towson.edu 410-704-3091
Mr. Guven Yilmaz gyilmaz@towson.edu 410-704-3091
     

Emeritus Faculty

Name & Title Retirement Date E-mail Address
John Chollet
Professor Emeritus
July 2015 jchollet@towson.edu
Jerome Cohen
Faculty Emeritus
July 2013 jcohen@towson.edu
James Coughlin
Professor Emeritus
December 2007 jcoughlin@towson.edu
John Grant
Professor Emeritus
July 2014 jgrant@towson.edu
William Rose
Professor Emeritus
July 2014 wirose@towson.edu
Martha J. Siegel
Professor Emerita
July 2015 msiegel@towson.edu

 

Department of Mathematics
7800 York Road, Room 316 (campus map)
Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Phone: 410-704-3091
Fax: 410-704-4149
E-mail: math@towson.edu



Online Faculty Handbook

Full-Time Faculty Handbook of the Department of Mathematics

Part-Time Faculty Handbook of the Department of Mathematics

Map

Emergencies
410-704-4444

University Police
410-704-2134

Closings & News
410-704-NEWS (6397)

Text Alerts
Sign up now