College of Health Professions

department of interprofessional health studies

awards ceremony

News and Events

Annual Awards Ceremony and Commencement Celebration

The annual Office of Collaborative Programs Awards Ceremony and Commencement Celebration was held Sunday, May 5, 2013 in the West Village Ballroom.  Faculty, staff, students and invited guests attended to recognize and applaud students for individual achievement and excellence, in addition to celebrating the commencement of students in our department programs. 

Department Awards

Department awards were presented to students who demonstrated exceptional growth, leadership, professional demeanor, and spirit of civility within their field of study. Congratulations to the award recipients listed below:

Graduate Awards

Sara Jarosiewicz, Award for Excellence in Autism Studies

Chinedu Nkwopara, Gerontology Program Student Award

Undergraduate Awards

Gerald Adcock, Allied Health Program, Award of Excellence

Alysa Davis, Gerontology Program Student Award

James Loan, Allied Health Program, Award of Recognition

Sarah Quivel, Allied Health Program, Award of Recognition

Lavera Sawyer, Health Care Management, Award of Excellence


Kathryn S. Farinholt Presentation

Included in the event program, attendees had the opportunity to hear a presentation from Kathryn S. Farinholt, J.D., the executive director of the National Alliance on Mental Illness of Maryland. Ms. Farinholt is a strong advocate on issues affecting people with mental illness and their families. She has helped develop and/or pilot numerous local and national peer-led NAMI programs, is a national NAMI trainer, and is nationally recognized for resource material.


Dr. Marcie Weinstein, Interim Director, Department of Interprofessional Health Studies, Kathryn S. Farinholt, Guest Speaker and Dr. Wayne Nelson, Interim Program Director, Health Care Management


Honor Society Inductions

25 department students were inducted into two separate honor societies during the Office of Collaborative Programs Awards Ceremony and Commencement on May 5, 2013.

Delta Rho, the local chapter of Sigma Phi Omega at Towson Unversity, is the national academic honor and professional society in gerontology. Sigma Phi Omega seeks to promote scholcarship, professionalism, friendship, and service to older persons and to recognize exemplary attainment in geronology related fields. Membership includes individual certificates, a Sigma Phi Omega pin and medal, and honor cords to be worn at graduation.

2013 Delta Rho Inductees

Kristen Anzaldi

Alexandra Fanelli

Melodie Nordin

Jennifer Peeples

Upsilon Phi Delta recognizes students studying health care administration by means of granting honorary memberships to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the profession by upholding and developing high professional standards and ethics. Members are selected on the basis of academic achievements, service to the community, and/or contributions to the healthcare management profession.

2013 Upsilon Phi Delta Inductees

Jasmine Britt   

Kelly Delesky

Jasmine Dyson

Nadia Ekema

Jonie Eng

Jessica Gordillo

Nimra Iqbal

Amy Jackson

Amie Jallow

Abenan Kouadio

Yana Linsh

Rachel Olsen

Kylie Overbaugh

Hariol Poggy

Lavera Sawyer

Juhi Shah

Linnea Shore

Lonita Torney

Ryan Wilmoth

Erin Wills

Charlotte Zabaldo

Department of Interprofessional Health Studies
Linthicum Hall, Room 121

Phone: 410-704-4049
Fax: 410-704-4965




University Police

Closings & News
410-704-NEWS (6397)

Text Alerts
Sign up now