About TU

Diversity Action Committee

Core Hate Bias Response Team


The Hate/Bias Response Team of the institutional Diversity Action Committee provides a coordinated multi-disciplinary university response to hate crimes and/or bias incidents by:

  • Meeting on a periodic basis to review reported instances of hate crimes and /or bias incidents    
  • Identifying any patterns, trends or upsurges in hate crime and/or/bias incident activity
  • Advising TU’s Diversity Coordinating Council of such patterns and making recommendations related to action-oriented steps to address identified patterns; and
  • Supporting the implementation of university-wide initiatives to curtail hate crimes and bias incidents.


Traevena Byrd University Counsel 410-704-4008
Marina Cooper Deputy Chief of Staff 410-704-3300
Gail Gasparich Acting Assistant Provost 410-704-4602
Bernard Gerst Assistant Vice President, Office of Public Safety and Chief of Police 410-704-2505
Deb Moriarty Vice President for Student Affairs
Josianne Pennington Vice President of University Marketing and Communication 410-704-3255
* Debbie Seeberger Assistant to the President for Diversity & Title IX Coordinator 410-704-2360
* Santiago Solis Assistant Vice President of Student Affairs for Diversity, Center for Student Diversity 410-704-5059


* indicates member of the Diversity Action Committee

  Name in Bold indicates Chairs and/or Co-Chairs of the Work Group


Auxiliary Members

Hate/Bias Reporting Information
















University Police

Closings & News
410-704-NEWS (6397)

Text Alerts
Sign up now