Banner Text


Department of Physics, Astronomy and Geosciences

Faculty

Full-Time Faculty

 

Name & Title

Interests

Contact Info

Reizelie Barreto-Espino
Assistant Professor
Design and implementation of scientific models in the context of argumentation; prospective elementary teachers' knowledge; adoption and implementation of argumentation; technology tools to promote argumentation practices rbarreto@towson.edu
410-704-3133
Smith Hall, Room 412-C
Rachel Burks Rea
Professor
Metamorphism and deformation of the Maryland Piedmont; geoarcheology of soapstone artifacts; tectonic history of Southeastern New England and geoscience education rburks@towson.edu
410-704-3005
Smith Hall, Room 451
Parviz Ghavamian
Assistant Professor
Multiwavelength study of collisionless astrophysical shocks and application to modeling of SNRs and shocks in the warm-hot intergalactic medium (WHIM); kinematics of SNRs; nucleosynthesis and dust formation in core-collapse supernovae; evolution of high velocity clouds (HVCs) and their role in fueling star formation; thermal structure and evolution of the interstellar medium in spiral galaxies pghavamian@towson.edu
410-704-3137
Smith Hall, Room 412-D
Phuoc D. Ha
Associate Professor

High energy physics and computational physics pdha@towson.edu
410-704-2174
Smith Hall, Room 463
Ron Hermann
Assistant Professor
The teaching and learning of evolution; recruitment and retention of science teachers; inquiry-based science instruction rhermann@towson.edu
410-704-3011
Smith Hall, Room 412-B
Rajeswari Kolagani
Professor
Experimental condensed matter physics; materials physics; technological applications of metal oxide thin films rkolagani@towson.edu
410-704-3134
Smith Hall, Room 459
Thomas O. Krause
Associate Professor
Quantum theory; nuclear scattering; gravitation and the nuclear physics of stellar interiors tkrause@towson.edu
410-704-3117
Smith Hall, Room 465
Steven Lev
Professor
Trace element and isotope geochemistry of black shales, fate and transport of metals from soils and sediments in the Chesapeake Bay Watershed; the origin of tourmaline in the Maryland Piedmont slev@towson.edu
410-704-2744
Smith Hall, Room 455
Pamela Lottero-Perdue
Associate Professor
Factors that support or hinder elementary teachers’ implementation of engineering education; critical engagement with science-related texts and technologies by children, prospective and current teachers, and other citizens; mentoring among college/university faculty in dynamic or nontraditional institutional contexts plottero@towson.edu
410-704-4598
Smith Hall, Room 412-F
Rommel Miranda
Associate Professor
Urban education; astronomy education; scientist-educator partnerships; science outreach programs; in-service science teacher professional development rmiranda@towson.edu
410-704-3014
Smith Hall, Room 421
Joel Moore
Assistant Professor
Connections between mineral weathering and soil chemistry, tectonics, ecosystems and climate shaping the Earth’s surface; understanding issues of societal relevance such as carbon sequestration, soil and water quality, and ecosystem sustainability; investigating Earth surface processes, hydrology and biogeochemstry moore@towson.edu
410-704-4245
Smith Hall, Room 426-F
James Overduin
Assistant Professor
Gravitation, theoretical extensions of general relativity and experimental tests of those theories; astroparticle physics, cosmic background radiation, Olbers' paradox and dark matter; cosmology, dark energy, Einstein's cosmological "constant", and Mach's principle joverduin@towson.eduu
410-704-3624
Smith Hall, Room 426-B
Cody Sandifer
Professor
Implementing inquiry-based science at all levels of education; cooperative sense-making of scientific concepts; science software for children and informal science learning in museums and after-school programs csandifer@towson.edu
410-704-4989
Smith Hall, Room 440
David Schaefer
Professor and Chairperson
Nanotechnology; adhesion measurements with atomic force microscopy; STM measurements of material mechanical properties dschaefer@towson.edu
410-704-2220
Smith Hall, Room 449
Jennifer Scott
Associate Professor
The intergalactic medium and quasar absorption lines; the extragalactic ultraviolet background; intrinsic absorption in active galactic nuclei; spectral energy distributions of active galactic nuclei jescott@towson.edu
410-704-3017
Smith Hall, Room 461
Asli Sezen
Assistant Professor
Improving science teacher education through developing improved reflective practices as well as innovative assessment techniques; understanding novice teachers’ learning to assess learning progressions around scientific and epistemic practices; science curriculum analysis and the policy factors influencing the curricular changes asezen@towson.edu
410-704-2441
Smith Hall, Room 426-D
Jeff Simpson
Assistant Professor
Experimental condensed matter and nanoscale physics; opto-electronic properties of nano-structured graphitic carbon, especially graphene and carbon nanotubes; optical properties of strong correlated materials, e.g., magnetoelectric multiferroics jrsimpson@towson.edu
410-704-4737
Smith Hall, Room 457
Vera Smolyaninova
Professor
Experimental condensed matter physics; electronic, magnetic and thermal properties of functional metal oxides; photonic materials and devices vsmolyaninova@towson.edu
410-704-2608
Smith Hall, Room 412-A
Alex Storrs
Associate Professor
Planet and solar system formation; image processing; high resolution imaging of asteroids; modelling optically thick lines in cometary comae astorrs@towson.edu
410-704-3003
Smith Hall, Room 412-G
Jia-An Yan
Assistant Professor
Computational and theoretical condensed matter physics; electronic structure and lattice dynamics of materials at low dimensions from first-principles; computational simulation of electron microscopy

jyan@towson.edu
410-704-3008
Smith Hall, Room 426-C

Administrative and Technical Staff


Name and Title

Contact Info

Karen Cimino
Internship Coordinator
kcimino@towson.edu
410-704-4454
Smith Hall, Room 500
Mark Edmonston
Lab Manager
medmonston@towson.edu
410-704-3906
Smith Hall, Room 426-E
Jeff Klupt
Electronics Shop Director
jklupt@towson.edu
410-704-3927
Smith Hall, Room 417
Bob Kuta
Machine Shop Director
bkuta@towson.edu
410-704-3006
Smith Hall, Room 130
S. Mark Monk
Instrument Support Specialist
smonk@towson.edu
410-704-2566
Smith Hall, Room 444
Julie Munski
Administrative Assistant
jmunski@towson.edu
410-704-3021
Smith Hall, Room 445
Mark Scarinzi
Operations Manager
mscarinzi@towson.edu
410-704-3013
Smith Hall, Room 467
Reneé Watkins,
Administrative Assistant
rwatkins@towson.edu
410-704-3022
Smith Hall, Room 447

Lecturers and Visiting Professors


Name and Title

Contact Info

Tsigabu Gebrehiwet
Lecturer
tgebrehiwet@towson.edu
410-704-3187
Smith Hall, Room 475
Amy Greco-Smith
Lecturer
agreco@towson.edu
410-704-3187
Smith Hall, Room 475
Mojgan Matloob-Haghanikar
Lecturer
mmatloobhaghanikar@towson.edu
410-704-3187
Smith Hall, Room 475
Michael Mengason
Visiting Assistant Professor
mmengason@towson.edu
410-704-2116
Smith Hall, Room 412E
Kate Oldak
Lecturer
koldak@towson.edu
410-704-3187
Smith Hall, Room 475
Gary Pennington
Lecturer
gpennington@towson.edu
410-704-3187
Smith Hall, Room 475
Matthew Perkins
Lecturer
mperkins@towson.edu
4410-704-3187
Smith Hall, Room 475
Greg Shofner
Lecturer
gshofner@towson.edu
410-704-3187
Smith Hall, Room 475

Research Assistants


Name and Title

Contact Info

Alireza Rafiee
Visiting Research Assistant
arafiee@towson.edu
410-704-3913
Smith Hall, Room 406
Grace Yong
Research Assistant
gyong@towson.edu
410-704-4348
Smith Hall, Room 448

Teacher-in-Residence


Name and Title

Contact Info

James Selway
TIR
jselway@towson.edu
410-704-4348
Smith Hall, Room 448

Part-Time Faculty


Contact Info: Smith Hall Room 408, 410-704-4729, unless noted.

Nathan Cappallo
ncappallo@towson.edu
Geoffrey McIntyre
gmcintyre@towson.edu
Allison Ricko
aricko1@students.towson.edu
Ned Douglass edouglass@towson.edu
Christy McKinzie
cmckinzie@towson.edu
Jonathan Seale jseale@towson.edu
Laura Etchemaite-Walborn
letchemaitewalborn@towson.edu
Christy Metzger
czuidema@towson.edu
James Selway
SM 448; 410-704-4348
jselway@towson.edu
Kimberly Galinn
kgalinn@towson.edu
Eileen Meyer emeyer@towson.edu Lisa Trattner
ltrattner@towson.edu
Andrew Goldfinger
agoldfinger@towson.edu
John Murdock
jmurdock@towson.edu
Michael Watson mwatso13@students.towson.edu
Jeffrey Hafner
jhafner@towson.edu
Yehia Negm ynegm@towson.edu Allison Wilson
awilson@towson.edu
Ashley Kowalski
akowalski@towson.edu
Ed Nawrocki
enawrocki@towson.edu
Grace Yong
gyong@towson.edu
Sean Lally
slally@towson.edu
Ha Nguyen
hnguyen@towson.edu
Sergei Zverev szverev@towson.edu
D. Jack MacConnell
SM 406; 410-704-3913
dmacconnell@towson.edu
Christian Ready
cready@towson.edu
 

Faculty Advisors


Class/Program

Advisor Phone
Physics David Schaefer 410-704-2220
Dual degree engineering Jeff Simpson 410-704-4737
Geology Rachel Burks/Joel Moore 410-704-3005/4245
Earth-space science Ron Hermann 410-704-3011


Department of Physics, Astronomy & Geosciences
Smith Hall, Room 445 (map)
Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Phone: 410-704-3020
Fax: 410-704-3511
E-mail: pags@towson.edu


 

 

Map

Emergencies
410-704-4444

University Police
410-704-2134

Closings & News
410-704-NEWS (6397)

Text Alerts
Sign up now