Graduate Studies Committee

The Graduate Studies Committee is a sub-committee of the University Senate. It determines Graduate Studies policy and is responsible for graduate curriculum and standards. The voting membership comprises ten members of the faculty (one from each academic college and a second member from each of the colleges with the most graduate programs; three-year terms), and two graduate students (one-year terms), one of whom is the President of the Graduate Students Association. The Dean of the Office of Graduate Studies and the Dean of University Libraries are ex officio members. Subcommittees of the Graduate Studies Committee review new and changed graduate courses, review applications for Graduate Faculty status, and make selections for graduate student awards.

The committee meets on the second Friday of the month during the academic year (if necessary, there may be occasional extra meetings). The meeting starts at 1 p.m. in the Psychology Building, 204. Items for the agenda should be submitted to the Dean at least one week before the meeting.

The members of the Graduate Studies Committee for 2014-2015 are:


Name Department College Term Expires
Faculty Members      
Elizabeth Katz Clinical Psychology CLA Spring 2016
Barin Nag, Chair e-Business and Technology Management CBE 2017
Alex Vigo Kinesiology CHP 2016
Susan Radius Health Science CHP 2017
Michael Korzi Political Science CLA 2017
Liyan Song Educational Technology and Literacy COE 2018
Susan Bartels Psychology CLA Fall 2015
Tonia Matthews

Art + Design, Art History,

Art Education

COFAC 2017
David Ownby Chemistry FCSM 2018
Raj Kolagani Physics Astronomy & Geosciences FCSM 2016
Amanda Keister GSA representative   2016
Janet DeLany Dean of Graduate Studies Graduate Studies
Deborah Nolan Dean of University Libraries Library n/a
Coverley Beidleman Assistant Director of Operations, University Admissions   n/a
Erika Carlson-Hiles Associate Director - Academic Policy & Graduation   n/a
Note: representatives of the Registrar's Office, Admissions Office, the Office of Assessment, and others attend regularly







University Police

Closings & News
410-704-NEWS (6397)

Text Alerts
Sign up now