University Curriculum Committee

Core Curriculum Reporting Committee

In 2008, the Provost’s Office appointed a General Education Review Committee chaired by the dean of the College of Liberal Arts. Its fall 2008 Report of the General Education Review Committee proposed the creation of a University Core that “might better reflect contemporary conceptions of important objectives for undergraduate education.” This plan was approved by the University Senate in December 2009, and implemented in the fall 2011. The committee consisted of 18 members with faculty from all colleges except CGSR, two deans, two representatives from Student Affairs, and two undergraduate students.

The purpose of the University Core is, in part, to provide students with an experience of different approaches to learning, different disciplinary frameworks for analysis, and different perspectives on issues and beliefs. The requirements of the University Core align with the university’s mission and reflect current assumptions about 21st century learning goals for undergraduate education. The University Core recognizes the value of offering students the opportunity to build a strong liberal learning foundation throughout their undergraduate education.

Courses are certified to meet specific University Core requirements. Courses in each category are assessed and recertified every seven years to ensure students are meeting the outcomes and goals of the University Core. For more information click on this link: New Core Learning Goals & Related Course Outcomes.

 

Chair

Donna Cox, Health Science, CHP - dcox@towson.edu
Members

 


Rodney Stump, Marketing, CBE - rstump@towson.edu

Barry M. Gittlen, Philosophy and Religious Studies, CLA - bgittlen@towson.edu

Amy Koch, Art and Design, COFAC - akoch@towson.edu
David Wizer, Educational Technology and Literacy, COE - wizer@towson.edu
Vonnie Shields, Biology, FCSM - vshields@towson.edu
Vicki Cohen, Academic Advising - vcohen@towson.edu
Stephanie Fowler, Admissions - sfowler@towson.edu
Suzanne Hill, Registrar's Office - sahill@towson.edu


Scheduled Meetings Twice monthly, the 1st and third Thursday of the month from 9:00-11:00 am.

 

 

Map

Emergencies
410-704-4444

University Police
410-704-2134

Closings & News
410-704-NEWS (6397)

Text Alerts
Sign up now