Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Criminal Justice

Full-Time Faculty

 

Name & Title

Areas

Contact Info

Aseltine, Elyshia
Assistant Professor

Crime/Law/Deviance; Criminal Justice; Race/Ethnicity in the U.S. and Africa.

easeltine@towson.edu
410-704-5222
Liberal Arts, Room 3348

Caronna, Carol
Professor

Organizations; Institutional theory; Health Care Organizations; Qualitative Case Study Methods.

ccaronna@towson.edu
410-704-2659
Liberal Arts, Room 3353

Clifford, Elizabeth

Department Chair;

Professor

Inequality; Race and Ethnicity; International Migration. eclifford@towson.edu
410-704-5164
Liberal Arts, Room 3210F

Cockey, Marion
Assistant Professor

Sociology of Law; Interpersonal Violence; Women and Criminal Justice

mcockey@towson.edu
410-704-2928
Liberal Arts, Room 3351

Collins, Sam
Professor

Cultural Anthropology; Information Society; Globalization; Korean Society; American Culture; Cultural Studies, Ethnographic Methods.

scollins@towson.edu
410-704-3199
Liberal Arts, Room 3334
Durington, Matthew
Associate Professor

Africa and African Diaspora; Moral Panics, Suburban and Drug Cultures; Urban Anthropology; Visual Anthropology; Ethnographic Methods.

mdurington@towson.edu
410-704-5256
Liberal Arts, Room 3347
Elliott, Michael
Associate Professor

Globalization, Political Sociology, Sociological Theory.

melliott@towson.edu
410-704-2354
Liberal Arts, Room 3358

Fabricant, Nicole

Assistant Professor

Latin America (Andes) Political Economy; Gender; Race/Ethnicity; Class; Social Movements; Resource Politics.

nfabricant@towson.edu

410-704-5221

Liberal Arts, Room 3355

Fisher, Vic
Associate Professor

Human Evolution and Prehistory; North American Indians; North American Archaeology; Eskimo Ethnography; Native American Archaeoastronomy; Environmental Archaeology.

vfisher@towson.edu
410-704-2851
Liberal Arts, Room 3332

Gaines, Jonathan

Assistant Professor

Sociology of Deviance, Juvenile Delinquency & Criminological Theory; Criminal Justice; Survey & Interview Research Methods, Measurement, Secondary Analysis & Social Statistics.

jgaines@towson.edu

410-704-2264

Liberal Arts, Room 3219

Gill, Harjant

Assistant Professor

South Asia; Gender; Migration; Globalization; Diaspora Studies; Media Studies; Visual Anthropology; Ethnographic Film.

hgill@towson.edu

410-704-5166

Liberal Arts, Room 3352

Gorman, Brian
Associate Professor

Criminal Law; American Judiciary; Biosecurity; Homeland Security.

bgorman@towson.edu
410-704-2206
Liberal Arts, Room 3220
Hughes, Marion
Assistant Professor

Social Demography; Quantitative Methods; Family; Adolescent Parenthood; Life Course Analysis; Gender; Race and Ethnicity; Social Problems

mhughes@towson.edu
410-704-2930
Liberal Arts, Room 3338
Kollmann, Dana
Clinical Assistant Professor

Forensic Archaeology; Criminal Forensics; Crime Scene Investigation; Archaeological Grave Identification and Exhumation; Physical Anthropological Analysis of Human Skeletal Remains; Forensic and Technical Photography.

dkollmann@towson.edu
410-704-2350
Liberal Arts, Room 3333
Langdon, Jennifer
Associate Professor

Restorative Justice; Ethics in Criminal Justice; Domestic Violence; Women and Crime; Sociology of Law.

jlangdon@towson.edu
410-704-5372

Liberal Arts, Room 3341

Larson, Jeff
Assistant Professor

Social Movements; Organizations; Culture; Institutions & Institutional Change.

jlarson@towson.edu
410-704-2929
Liberal Arts, Room 3218
Manasse, Michelle
Associate Professor

Crime and Mental Health; Prisons and Corrections; Youth Crime; Criminological Theory.

mmanasse@towson.edu
410-704-2265
Liberal Arts, Room 3356
Munroe, Paul
Associate Professor

Group Processes; Social Psychology; Stratification and Inequality; Adolescence; Research Methods.

pmunroe@towson.edu
410-704-5868
Liberal Arts, Room 3221
Nixon, Howard
Professor

Sociology of Sport; Sociology of Higher Education; Social Network Analysis; Organizations; Sport and Disability.

hnixon@towson.edu
410-704-2283
Liberal Arts, Room 3350
Pryor, Doug
Professor;
Co-Chair, Middle States Committee

Deviant Behavior; Sex Crimes; Interpretive Sociology; Qualitative Methods; Juvenile Delinquency; Fear of Crime; Criminological Theory.

dpryor@towson.edu
410-704-2150
Liberal Arts, Room 3336

Scheuerman, Heather

Assistant Professor

Injustice and Crime; Criminological Theory; Juvenile Delinquency; Gender; Social Psychology.

hscheuerman@towson.edu

410-704-3844

Liberal Arts, Room 3354

Sealock, Miriam
Assistant Chair;

Professor

Criminal Justice; Policing; Delinquency Prevention and Treatment; Online Victimization; Criminological Theory; Research Methods.

msealock@towson.edu
410-704-5165
Liberal Arts, Room 3210G

Tsitsos, William
Associate Professor

Sociology of Religion; Popular Culture; Sport; Food.

wtsitsos@towson.edu
410-704-2355
Liberal Arts, Room 3222

Lecturers

 

Name & Title

Internship Coordinator, Areas

Contact Info

Garcia, Whitney
Senior Lecturer

Sociological Theory; Sociology of HIV/AIDS; Social Policy; Sociology of Race, Class, and Gender; Medical Sociology.

wgarcia@towson.edu
410-704-4534
Liberal Arts, Room 3342

Hahn, Laura
Lecturer,

Internship Coordinator, Criminal Justice

Correctional Administration; Inmate issues and programming; Reintegration policy and process; Technology in CJ; Investment in education and social service programs to reduce early criminality; Juveniles in the adult CJ system; Juvenile Diversion programs.

lhahn@towson.edu
410-704-2684
Liberal Arts, Room 3343

Hartmark, Stephen Erik
Lecturer,

Internship Coordinator,

Sociology

Sociology of Education; Urban Sociology; Social Psychology.

shartmark@towson.edu
410-704-2389
Liberal Arts, Room 3305

Wall, Bob
Lecturer,

Internship Coordinator,

Anthropology

Public Archaeology; Lithic Technology and Prehistoric Ceramics; Eastern North American Prehistory; Canadian Subarctic; Geographic Information Systems; Geomorphology.

rdwall@towson.edu
410-704-3387
Liberal Arts, Room 3323

Part-Time Faculty

 

Name

Areas

Contact Info

Brotman, Edith Sociology of Culture; Race and Ethnicity; Comparative Historical.

ebrotman@towson.edu

410-704-5216

Liberal Arts, Room 2323

Buresh, Scott

Religion, Magic & Witchcraft; Islamic Religion; Globalization and Development.

sburesh@towson.edu

410-704-5216
Liberal Arts, Room 2323

Canter, Phil Crime Analysis, Crime Theory, Geographic Information Systems; Quantitative Methods; Spatial Analysis.

pcanter@towson.edu

410-704-5216

Liberal Arts, Room 2323

Craig, Shawn

Criminal Justice, Law Enforcement. Related Position: Corporal.

scraig@towson.edu

410-704-4331
Liberal Arts, Room 2350

Dashiell, Steven L.

Social Inequality; Popular Culture; Intersectionalities; Urban Sociology; Sociolinguistics.

sdashiell@towson.edu

410-704-3584
Liberal Arts, Room 3349

De Fazio, Gianluca Social Movements; Political Violence and Terrorism; Law and Society; Research Methods.

gdefazio@towson.edu

410-704-5216

Liberal Arts, Room 2323

Fernstrom, Katharine

Archaeology; Ethnohistory; Native American and Melanesian Arts and Material Culture; Exchange Systems; Social Organization; Museums; Art History. Related Position: Former Associate Curator of the Arts of Africa, the Americas & Oceania at the Baltimore Museum of Art.

kfernstrom@towson.edu

410-704-3584
Liberal Arts, Room 3349

Hall, Charlie

Eastern U.S. Archaeology; Prehistoric Settlement Systems; Cultural Resources Management.

clhall@towson.edu

410-704-5216
Liberal Arts, Room 2323

Hax, Heather Social Movements; Environmental Sociology; Sociology of Work and Labor; Political Economy; Race, Class, and Gender. Related Position:Collective Member, 2640 Space.

hhax@towson.edu

410-704-5216

Liberal Arts, Room 2323

Hopkins, Jody

Archaeology-Prehistoric and Historic; Cultural Resources Studies; Civilization; Mesoamerica; Archaeological Methods. Related Position: Former President of Joseph Hopkins Associates Inc., a cultural resources consulting firm.

jhopkins@towson.edu

410-704-2852
Liberal Arts, Room 3349

Jackson, Walter

Juvenile Justice System; Restorative Justice; Juvenile Justice Policy; Youth Crime and Victimization; Juvenile Probation. Related Position: Maryland Department of Juvenile Justice.

wjackson@towson.edu

410-704-3584
Liberal Arts, Room 3349

Jelenewicz, Shameeka

Youth and Society; Public Health and Well-Being; Teenage Contraception; Sociology of Race and Ethnicity; Sociology of Black America; Survey Research.

sjelenewicz@towson.edu
410-704-3584

Liberal Arts, Room 3349

Johnson, Gerard

Political Sociology; Social Anthropology; Cultural Studies.

gjohnson@towson.edu

410-704-3471
Liberal Arts, Room 2323

Knapp, Roland

Community Corrections; Prisons; Delinquency and Juvenile Justice. Related Position: Former Director, Maryland Division of Parole and Probation.

rknapp@towson.edu

410-704-5216
Liberal Arts, Room 2323

Kopelentova-Rehak, Jana

Central and Eastern Europe; Political Prisoners; Anthropology and Photography.

jkopelentovarehak

@towson.edu

410-704-3584
Liberal Arts, Room 3349

Long, William Police Administration.

wlong@towson.edu

410-704-3584

Liberal Arts, Room 3349

Lyman, Brad

Urban Sociology; Social Stratification; Societal Development; Teaching Sociology Using Technology. Related Position: Professor of Sociology, Baltimore City Community College.

hlyman@towson.edu

410-704-5216
Liberal Arts, Room 2323

Mitchell, Richard

Native American Indian Communities; Preservation of American Indian Cultural Properties; Anglo-Indian Relations. Related Positions: Former Executive Director at Mid America All Indian Center (MAAIC) in Wichita, Kansas; Former Museum Director, Indian Center Museum at MAAIC.

rmitchell@towson.edu

410-704-3584

Nikolov, Boris  

bnikolov@towson.edu

410-704-3584

Liberal Arts, Room 3349

Pfoertsch, Ingrid

Sociology of Sport; Social Problems; Social Justice; Environmental Justice.

ipfoertsch@towson.edu

410-704-3584
Liberal Arts, Room 3349

Roussey, Fred

Police Administration; Child Abuse. Related Positions: Former Detective, Baltimore City Police Department Child Abuse Unit; Former Instructor Baltimore City Police Department Education and Training Section; Former Shift Commander Baltimore City Police Department Central District.

froussey@towson.edu

410-704-3471
Liberal Arts, Room 2323

Singh, Jason  

jsingh@towson.edu

410-704-3471

Liberal Arts, Room 2323

Skinner, John

Criminal Investigations; Police Administration and Management; Homeland Security; Criminal Intelligence. Related Position: Deputy Commissioner of Operations, Baltimore Police Department.

jskinner@towson.edu

410-704-3471
Liberal Arts, Room 2323

Strayer, Chelsea Biological and Cultural Anthropology; West Africa; Biocultural Medical Anthropology; Evolutionary Psychology of Religion; Indigenous Ritual Healing; Placebo and Nocebo Studies; Psychological Anthropology; Evolutionary Medicine.

cstrayer@towson.edu

410-704-3471

Liberal Arts, Room 2323





 

 

 

Map

Emergencies
410-704-4444

University Police
410-704-2134

Closings & News
410-704-NEWS (6397)

Text Alerts
Sign up now