College of Fine Arts and Communication


Department of Theatre Arts

On Stage

Past Productions

The Department of Theatre Arts produces four Main Stage and 10 to 15 Studio projects and productions each year. Some past productions include The Crucible, Romeo and Juliet, The Diary of Anne Frank, Noises Off and The Misanthrope.

2013-2014 Season

Spring 2014

The Colored Museum by George C. Wolfe

Center for the Arts Ruth Marder Studio Theatre

Student Studio Project

Wednesday, February 19, 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, February 20, 7:30 p.m.
Friday, February 21, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, February 22, 7:30 p.m.

Tickets: $5

All performances benefit Towson University Foundation

 

Lysistrata by Aristophanes, Translated by Sarah Ruden

Center for the Arts Mainstage Theatre

Mainstage Production

Wednesday, March 5, 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, March, 6, 7:30 p.m.
Friday, March 7, 8 p.m.
Saturday, March 8, 8 p.m.
Sunday, March 9, 2 p.m.
Tuesday, March 11, 7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, March 12, 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, March 13, 7:30 p.m.

Proceeds benefit the Towson University Foundation

Tickets: $20 adults; $10 seniors/students

 

Mixed Media by Kristina Kauffman

Center for the Arts Ruth Marder Studio Theatre

Student Studio Project

Wednesday, April 16, 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, April 17, 7:30 p.m.
Friday, April 18, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, April 19, 7:30 p.m.

Tickets: $5

All performances benefit Towson University Foundation

 

Between Trains by Juanita Rockwell

  students on the set of Between Trains

Center for the Arts Studio Theatre

Mainstage Production

Thursday, May 1, 7:30 p.m. Benefits Towson University Foundation
Friday May 2, 8 p.m.

Saturday, May 3, 8 p.m.

Sunday, May 4, 2 p.m.

Wednesday, May 7, 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, May 8, 7:30 p.m.
Friday, May 9, 8 p.m.

                                                             Saturday, May 10, 8 p.m.

                                                                                  Tickets: $20 adults; $10 seniors/students

 

Fall 2013

How I Learned to Drive by Paula Vogel

Center for the Arts Ruth Marder Studio Theatre

Student Studio Project

Wednesday, October 9, 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, October 10, 7:30 p.m.

Friday, October 11, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, October 12, 7:30 p.m.

Tickets: $5

All performances benefit Towson University Foundation

 

Twelfth Night by William Shakespeare

   Center for the Arts Mainstage Theatre

    Mainstage Production

actors on the set of Twelfth NightAll Performances Benefit Towson University Foundation

Thursday, October 24, 7:30 p.m.
Friday, October 25, 8 p.m.

Saturday, October 26, 8 p.m.
Sunday, October 27, 2 p.m.
Thursday, October 31, 7:30 p.m.
Friday, November 1, 8 p.m.

Saturday, November 2, 8 p.m.

Tickets: $20 adults, $10 seniors/students

 

Machinal by Sophie Treadwell

   Center for the Arts Studio Theatre

    Mainstage Production

a dark scene in MachinalThursday, November 14, 7:30 p.m. Benefits Towson University Foundation
Friday, November 15, 8 p.m.
Saturday, November 16, 8 p.m.
Sunday, November 17, 2 p.m.
Wednesday, November 20, 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, November 21, 7:30 p.m.
Friday, November 22, 8:00 p.m.

Saturday, November 23, 8 p.m.

Tickets: $20 adults; $10 seniors/students

 

 

 

The Babel Project by Greg Romero and Mike Vernusky

Center for the Arts Ruth Marder Studio Theatre

Student Studio Project

Wednesday, December 4, 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, December 5, 7:30 p.m.

Friday, December 6, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, December 7, 7:30 p.m.

Tickets: $5

All performances benefit Towson University Foundation

 

The Sadness of Small Cakes written and directed by Rowen Haigh

Center for the Arts Dreyer MFA Group Studio

MFA Thesis Production

Thursday, December 5, 8:00 p.m.

Friday, December 6, 8:00 p.m.

Saturday, December 7, 8:00 p.m.

Tickets: TBA

 

2012-2013 Season

Fall 2012

The Glass Menagerie By Tennessee Williams

 

The Glass Menagerie

Center for the Arts Main Stage Theatre

Thursday, October 18, 7:30 p.m. Benefits Towson University Foundation
Friday and Saturday, October 19 and 20, 8 p.m.
Sunday, October 21, 2 p.m.
Thursday, October 25, 7:30 p.m.
Friday and Saturday, October 26 and 27, 8 p.m.

Tickets: $20 adults, $10 seniors/students

 

 

 

 

 

 

Commedia Capers

 

Commedia Capers

The Ruth Marder Studio Theatre

Wednesday and Thursday, November 14 and 15, 7:30 p.m.
Friday and Saturday, November 16 and 17, 8 p.m.

Tickets: $20 adults; $10 seniors/students
All performances benefit Towson University Foundation

 

 

 

David M. White's Last Chance - Tales From a Broken Heartland: Trash and Ninjas & Squirrels

 

Ninjas & Squirrels

Center for the Arts Studio Theatre

Thursday, November 29, 7:30 p.m. Benefits Towson University Foundation
Friday, November 30, 8 p.m.
Saturday, December 1, 8 p.m.
Sunday, December 2, 2 p.m.
Wednesday and Thursday, December 5 and 6,7:30 p.m.
Friday and Saturday, December 7 and 8, 8 p.m.

Tickets: $20 adults; $10 seniors/students

 

 

 

 

 

Spring 2013

Bad Kids by Steven Barroga

Student Studio Project

Center for the Arts Ruth Marder Studio Theatre

Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday, February 20-23, 7:30 p.m.

Tickets: $5

All performances benefit Towson University Foundation

 

this is not Happening(s) created by Emily Hall

MFA Performance Installation

Center for the Arts Dryer MFA Studio

Thursday, February 28

Friday, March 1

Saturday, March 2

 

Curse of the Starving Class by Sam Shepard

Center for the Arts Studio Theatre

Wednesday, March 6, 7:30 p.m. Benefits Towson University Foundation
Thursday, March 7, 7:30 p.m.
Friday and Saturday, March 8 and 9, 8 p.m.
Sunday, March 10, 2 p.m.
Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, March 12, 13, and 14, 7:30 p.m.

Tickets: $20 adults; $10 seniors/students

 

Dark Room by George Brant

Student Studio Project

Center for the Arts Ruth Marder Studio Theatre

Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday, March 27-30, 7:30 p.m.

Tickets: $5

All performances benefit Towson University Foundation

 

The Goat or, Who is Sylvia? by Edward Albee

Student Studio Project

Center for the Arts Ruth Marder Studio Theatre

Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday, April 10-13, 7:30 p.m.

Tickets: $5

All performances benefit Towson University Foundation

 

Spring Awakening by Duncan Sheik and Steven Sater

Center for the Arts Main Stage Theatre

Thursday, April 25, 7:30 p.m.
Friday and Saturday, April 26 and 27, 8 p.m.
Thursday, May 2, 7:30 p.m.
Friday and Saturday, May 3 and 4, 8 p.m.
Sunday, May 5, 2 p.m.
Wednesday and Thursday, May 8 and 9, 7:30p.m.
Friday and Saturday, May 10 and 11, 8 p.m.

Tickets: $20 adults; $10 seniors/students

All performances benefit Towson University Foundation

 

Department of Theatre Arts
Center for the Arts, Room 3037 (map)
Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Phone: 410-704-2792
Fax: 410-704-3914
E-mail: theatre@towson.edu

 

on stage


The 2013-2014 Season:
See what's On Stage.


 

 

 

Map

Emergencies
410-704-4444

University Police
410-704-2134

Closings & News
410-704-NEWS (6397)

Text Alerts
Sign up now