Search for Vice President of Inclusion and Institutional Equity

August 26, 2016

President Schatzel announces the search committee and process for hiring TU's first Vice President of Inclusion and Institutional Equity.

Dear TU Campus Community:

The national search for the Vice President of Inclusion and Institutional Equity is officially underway and I want to share some pertinent information with you on this campus priority.

Witt/Kieffer, a highly-respected national search firm, will be working with the co-chairs and the committee to complete this search during the fall term. The following is a preliminary timeline of the search process.

  • September 1 and 2 Kick-off meetings Committee charge from President. Search Consultants on-campus meeting with Stakeholder groups to gather input for position profile.
  • Mid-SeptemberPosition Profile approved and active recruiting begins.
  • Mid-NovemberApplicant review and selection of candidates for initial short-list.
  • Late November – Structured interviews with short-listed candidates (8-10).
  • December 7-14 – On-campus interviews for finalists (4).
  • Late December – Offer made to preferred candidate.
  • Early January – VP named and announced.

This is an ambitious but achievable timeline that we know will result in a senior leader with strategic vision for the design, promotion, and delivery of best-practice diversity, inclusion and cultural competency efforts across campus. This Vice President will oversee and lead the Office of Inclusion (formerly the Office of Diversity and Equal Opportunity) and the Office of Institutional Equity (comprised of Fair Practices, Title IX, and ADA).

The search committee, co-chaired by Provost Timothy Chandler and General Counsel Traevena Byrd, consists of representatives of several campus-wide and shared governance groups. The committee members include:

  • Michelle Manasse, AAUP Representative
  • Saleha Suleman, Asian American Faculty & Staff Association
  • Barry Evans, Black Faculty and Staff Association
  • Joshua White, Council of Diverse Student Organizations
  • Susan Willemin, Disability Support Services 
  • Leah Mirzayan, Graduate Student Association
  • Gilda Martinez-Alba, Latino/a Faculty & Staff Association
  • Lisa Simmons-Barth, LGBTQ Faculty & Staff Association
  • Elyshia Aseltine, Social Justice Collective
  • James Mileo, Student Government Association
  • Robin Walczak, Towson University Staff Council
  • Amanda Burnham, University Senate
  • Carol Ridge, Women’s Faculty/ Staff Association

Please join me in thanking these individuals in advance for their commitment to our relentless pursuit of a diverse and inclusive campus. When the campus community is invited to participate in this process, I hope you will do so. I thank you all for participating in Towson University's ongoing efforts to forge a campus community which welcomes and nurtures those of different backgrounds, identities, cultures and needs. 

In the coming weeks, more information about the progress of this search and other priorities will posted on the TU website under Presidential Priorities.

There’s much to be proud of at Towson University, and there are great things ahead!

Kim Schatzel, Ph.D.