Online Cyber Security Specialist Course

Jumpstart your IT career and set yourself apart from other job applicants.


Towson University's online Cyber Security Specialist course is an entry-level program that bundles three international certifications into one comprehensive course. Upon completion, you'll be prepared to sit for four certification exams—CompTIA A+ (Core 1 and Core 2), CompTIA Network+, and CompTIA Security+.

Total Hours: 480

Tuition: $3,999 includes all instructional materials, textbooks, and one voucher for the Security+ exam

Location: Online

Open enrollment. Begin anytime. Set your own. Must be completed within twelve months of registration. Register


More about This Course

Course Overview

Gain experience that will be invaluable if you choose to pursue a career as an IT specialist, tech support administrator, network installer, security consultant, or network administrator.

At the end of this CompTIA course, you will be proficient in basic cyber security concepts such as attacks and mitigation, security applications, risk assessment, disaster recovery and incident response, cloud computing, mobile devices, BYOD and SCADA, in addition to vulnerability assessment.

About CompTIA A+ Certification

The CompTIA A+ certification is the industry standard for establishing a career in IT. The performance-based exams certify foundational IT skills across a variety of devices and operating systems.

About CompTIA Network+ Certification

The CompTIA Network+ certification is a mid-level certification for network technicians. The Network+ exam tests the skills needed to design, configure, manage and troubleshoot any wired and wireless devices. In order to receive the Network+ certification, you must pass one exam.

About CompTIA Security+ Certification

Security is one of the fastest-growing fields in IT. The CompTIA Security+ certification is an international, vendor-neutral certification that demonstrates core competencies required for any cybersecurity role and prepares you for intermediate-level cybersecurity jobs. In order to receive the Security+ certification, you must pass one exam.

Course Outline

Module 1.  CompTIA™ A+  220-1001

  • Hardware
  • Hardware part II
  • Networking
  • Mobile and more

Module 2. CompTIA™ A+  220-1002

  • Windows
  • Troubleshooting
  • Security
  • Mac & Linux

Module 3. CompTIA™ Network+  N10-007

  • Foundations of networking and infrastructure
  • Addressing, protocols, routing
  • Cabling and wireless networking
  • Virtualization and the cloud, subnets, and VLANs
  • Risk management and security
  • Network Performance and WANs

Module 4. CompTIA™ Security+  SY0-501

  • Security attacks and cryptography
  • Security and networking
  • Securing networks and clients
  • Mobile security and access management
  • Business continuity and risk mitigation

Download Course Outline (PDF)

Certification Exam

Upon successful completion of this course, you will be issued a voucher to take the Security+ course. Learn about the Security+ exam.

 Technology Requirements

Hardware Requirements

  • This course can be taken on either a PC or Mac.

Software Requirements

  • PC: Windows XP or later.
  • Mac: OS X Snow Leopard 10.6 or later.
  • Browser: The latest version of Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox are preferred. Microsoft Edge and Safari are also compatible.
  • Microsoft Word (not included in enrollment).
  • Windows Media Player.
  • Adobe Flash Player. Download the Flash Player.
  • Adobe Acrobat Reader. Download the Acrobat Reader.
  • Software must be installed and fully operational before the course begins.


  • Email capabilities and access to a personal email account.
Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA)

Towson University is an CompTIA Authorized Academy and Authorized Partner.

CompTIA, CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, CompTIA Security+, and CompTIA ITF+, are registered trademarks of the Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA).