Methan Ouattara makes a deep dive into the TU community

By Megan Bradshaw on November 6, 2017

International student Methan Ouattara has become a fixture on campus, through the SGA, Greek Life and the ISSO.

Methan Ouattara, ’19, mathematics/actuarial science with finance minor

 

Tell me about where you’re from.

I grew up in the Ivory Coast in West Africa. It’s a warm country, and I used to live close to the beach. I’m a French native speaker. We used to go to the beach and play soccer. It is like a religion in my country. I played soccer every single day. I also enjoy basketball. I used to play basketball in high school. I like music a lot. People like dancing in my country, especially my mom.

Tell me about your family.

I have one brother and one sister. They are all younger than me. My brother is a junior in high school and my sister is in middle school. My dad has his own business, Ouattara Trading. He ships food to Europe and the UK: coconuts, bananas and yams. My mom owns a store selling shoes and clothes.

What made you choose Towson University?

My dad wanted me to speak English. My top priorities in high school were math and science, and I didn’t pay attention to learning English. So my dad wanted me to go to an English-speaking country. The U.S. has the best programs in actuarial science, and Towson has one of the best. Also, my uncle lives 15 minutes away.

Read more “Tiger Tuesday” conversations

What do you do in your free time?

I discovered a new passion: working out. I started two summers ago, and now it’s a passion for me. I try to get involved at TU as much as I can. I work with the SGA, and I’m also in Zeta Beta Tau. Apart from that I also work at the ISSO. I always like meeting new people. I’ve met over 1,000 people since I’ve been here.

I also mentor international students. I help them adjust. I come from an educational system that’s very different to the US so that helps me to help them adjust. 

What is your favorite class or professor?

When I was in the ELC (English Language Center), my grammar professors, Ms. Linda and Ms. Sarah Rose, they were like moms to me. They were always here for me. They would send me emails to make sure I’m okay, if there was something going on in my country or in my life.

What are your plans for the future?

One of my main goals is to work as an actuary for two to five years and then start my own business to be able to provide jobs for people in my country or Africa in general.