Academic Senate

The Academic Senate is the primary policy-making body of the university as well as the academic community's primary advisory body to the president.



Monthly meetings are held on the first Monday of the month, from 4 – 6 p.m. and are open to anyone who would like to attend them (see meeting schedule). If you would like to be added to the monthly email distribution list, please contact the .

Changes to Shared Governance at TU

Academic Senate Membership

Academic SENATE Executive committee 2019-2020

  • Jennifer Ballengee, Chair
  • Desiree D. Rowe, Vice Chair
  • Heather Haverback, Secretary
  • Amanda Burnham, Member-at-Large
  • Melanie Perreault, Provost & Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • Maggie Reitz, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

Academic Senate

Name Department College Term Expires

Abeza, Gashaw

Kinesiology CHP 2022

Anthony, James 


TURFA Alternative Reoresentative 

COFAC 2020

Ballengee, Jennifer

English At Large  2021
Beck, Harald Biological Sciences FCSM 2020 
Brown, Cheryl T.

Computer & Information Sciences



Burnham, Amanda Art + Design, Art History, Art Education At Large  2021
Gissendanner, Cindy Chair Representative  CLA 2022
Gold, Carl

Family Studies & Community Development

Adjunct Faculty Representative

CLA 2021
Haverback, Heather Secondary & Middle School Education COE 2021
Herzog, Jay Theatre Arts COFAC 2020

Holmes, Claire

Library Library 2021

Ji, Yong-Yeon


CBE 2021

Katz, Kimberly

History CLA 2020
Kreitzer, Keren


Adjunct Faculty Representative

CLA 2022
Liu, Xiaoming Elementary Education COE 2021
Luchese, Diane Music COFAC 2022
Mullens, Laurie  Deans Representative COE 2022
Mydlack, Dan

Electronic Media & Film

AAUP Representative 

COFAC 2020
Nag, Barin Business Analytics & Technology Managment CBE 2020 
Oslund, Karen History At-Large 2021
Pampinella, Margherita Foreign Languages CLA 2022
Romero, Jorge Accounting CBE 2022
Rowe, Desiree Communication Studies COFAC 2021
Sadera, Bill Educational Technology & Literacy COE 2021
Siegel, Martha


TURFA Representative 

FCSM 2020
Slotkin, Joel English CLA 2022
Snyder, Briana Nursing CHP 2020
Soto, Ana Maria Chemistry FCSM 2022
Todd Diaz, Ashley Library At Large 2020 
Vatz, Richard Instructional Leadership & Professional Development At Large  2020
Yeager, Jenna Occupational Therapy & Occupational Science CHP 2021

Zimmerman, Jay


At Large  2021


  • Laurie Mullen, Dean, College of Education (2022)
  • Cindy Gissendanner, Council of Chairs Representative (2022)
  • Danny Mydlack, Electronic Media & Film, AAUP Representative (2020)

Ex Officio (Non-voting)

  • Kim Schatzel, President
  • Melanie Perreault, Provost & Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
    • Maggie Reitz, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
    • Karen Eskow, Interim Dean of Graduate Studies
    • Terry Cooney, Rector of the Honors College
    • Theresa Jenkins, Chair of TUSS
    • Naimah Kargbo, President of the SGA
    • Marlene Tubera, Vice President of the SGA
    • Mia Williams, President of the GSA
    • Douglas Sentz, Vice President of the GSA