CLA Building

The Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Criminal Justice offers an undergraduate major degree in sociology-anthropology (called SOAN), with a choice of three different concentrations for study: sociology, anthropology, or criminal justice. All students in the major are exposed to social science methods and perspectives needed to understand culture and society. Then within each discipline, students learn valuable content knowledge and also develop important problem solving, critical thinking, interpretive, and analytical skills. At the time they declare the major, each student selects and specifies a concentration of study. Each concentration consists of a specialized and distinct curriculum. Students complete the SOAN major by completing any of the three concentrations.

Currently the department consists of about 45 full and part time faculty with approximately 650 majors distributed across our three concentrations.

College of Liberal Arts
Suite 3210
Phone: 410-704-2852
Fax: 410-704-2854