Faculty Committees & Special Assignments

Department of Computer & Information Sciences Committees (2019-20)

Committee Department Representatives

DSc Program

Ali-Gombe, J. Chakraborty, Karne, Liao, Lu (Director), Nguyen, Song, Wang, Wijesinha, Yu

MS in CS Program

Acharya, S. Chakraborty (Acting Director and AIT liaison), Davani, Hong, Kim, Liao, McGuire (on leave), Tang, M. Zimand, Deng

MS in AIT Program

Acharya, Brown (Acting Director), S. Chakraborty, Pak, Tavakolan (Acting Associate Director), Chenowith

CS Undergraduate Program

Acharya, Ali-Gombe, Conover (IT liaison), Davani, Dehlinger (Director), Dierbach, Kim, Nguyen, Tang, Hong (IS liaison), Deng, Zimand I.

IS Undergraduate Program

Brown (IT liaison), S. Chakraborty, J. Chakraborty, Feng, Hammell, Hong, Meiselwitz (Director), Nguyen (CS liaison), Pak, Wang 

IT Undergraduate Program

Brown (IS liaison), Conover (CS liaison), Dudley, Etesamipour, Hilberg (Director), McGuire, Meiselwitz, Pak, Tavakolan

Foundational Course 

Conover (Chair), CS Undergraduate Director, IS Undergraduate Director, IT Undergraduate Director, Alkharouf, Dierbach, Downing-Harris, Eyer, Taylor, Zimand, I.  

Assessment & Quality Assurance

Hammell (Chair), Tang (undergrad programs), Wang (grad programs)


Acharya (Chair), All program Directors, Chairperson

Alumni Relations

Dehlinger (Chair), Hammell

Articulation & Transfer Advising

Bohle (co-chair transfer advising), Brown, Kaza, Hilberg (co-chair articulation), Meiselwitz, McGill

Academic Standards

Dudley (Chair), Meiselwitz

University Core Curriculum

Meiselwitz (Chair), Brown, Dudley, Taylor

Promotion, Tenure, and Merit

Kim (Chair)

Election Committee



Lu (Chair), Feng, O'Leary, Song, Yu, Nguyen


Bohle, Program Directors, Foundational Course Chair, Dept. Chair and Associate Chair

Scholarships & Awards

Chakraborty J. (Chair), Dierbach, Dudley, Hammell, Meiselwitz 

UG Graduation Evaluation

Bohle, Brown, Tavakolan


Conover (Chair)

Student Technology Club


Computer Security Club

O'Leary, Ali-Gombe

Diversity Committee

Wijesinha (Chair), J. Chakraborty, Dudley, Ali-Gombe, Hammell, Meiselwitz

Open House Committee

Hammell (Chair), Acharya, Bohle, Brown, Dehlinger, Dierbach, Kaza, McGuire, Nguyen, Tang, Taylor, Wang, J. Chakraborty

Department Members Serving on FCSM Committees

Committee RepresentaTives to FCSM


 S. Chakraborty

Women in Science Steering Committee


College Council 

J. Chakraborty, Hilberg

Election Committee 




Undergraduate Research 




Information Technology 

 Houston, Acharya



Diversity Committee 


Academic Senate


Special Assignments for Department Members

Role Department Member
Associate Chair Hammell
Computer Resources  Houston
Webmaster Cummings
Cybersecurity Team  O'Leary
Programming Contest Conover
Internship Coordinator  Dehlinger
Pledge of the Computing Professional  Dudley, Bohle, Krawczyk
Upsilon Pi Epsilon (UPE) Chakraborty, J.