Graduate Studies Committee

CLA Building at night

The Graduate Studies Committee shall be composed of two appointed faculty members with graduate faculty status from each of the following colleges: the College of Liberal Arts, College of Education, College of Health Professions, and the Fisher College of Mathematics and Science; and one appointed faculty member with graduate faculty status from each of the following colleges: College of Business and Economics and the College of Fine Arts and Communication. These faculty members shall hold a terminal degree related to their field and the rank of professor or associate professor, and no two shall be members of the same department. Faculty members serving on the Graduate Studies Committee shall be appointed by their respective college dean to a three-year term. In addition, the Graduate Studies Committee shall include two graduate students appointed by the GSA for a one year term; the Dean of Graduate Studies ex officio; a representative of the Office of the Provost ex officio; a representative of the Registrar ex officio; the Director of Admissions ex officio; and the Dean of the Library ex officio.

The committee meets once a month during the academic year (if necessary, there may be occasional extra meetings). Items for the agenda should be submitted to the Dean at least one week before the meeting.

The members of the Graduate Studies Committee for 2020-2021 are:
Faculty Members

Name Department College Term Expires
Xiaolin Li Business Analytics and Technology Management CBE 2022
Nirmal Srinivasan Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology CHP 2022
Kendra Heatwole Shank Occupational Therapy and Occupational Science CHP 2023
Lisa Martinelli-Beasley Family Studies and Community Development CLA 2022
Jeff Kukucka Psychology CLA 2022
Stephen Schroth, Chair  Early Childhood Education COE 2023
Qing Li Educational Technology and Literacy COE 2024
Tonia Matthews Art + Design, Art History, Art Education COFAC 2023
Sergiy Borodachov Mathematics FCSM 2023
Cynthia Zeller Chemistry FCSM 2022

Student Member

David Ownby, Interim Dean of Graduate Studies, Office of Graduate Studies

Clare Muhoro, Associate Provost 

Coverley Beidleman, Senior Assistant Director of Operations, University Admissions

Erika Carlson-Hiles, Associate Director - Academic Policy & Graduation

Suzanna Conrad, Dean, University Libraries, Cook Library