Scholarships, Grants & Awards

The Speech-Language Pathology & Audiology (SPPA) department has limited scholarship awards within the department. Students are encouraged to visit the undergraduate and graduate admissions websites for information on TU scholarship opportunities.

Doctor of Audiology (Au.D.) Scholarships:

Dr. Vic S. Gladstone and Mary A. Saylor Scholarship in Audiology Education: This scholarship is open to students enrolled in the Audiology doctoral program. All applicants must meet the following requirements: 1. Enrolled in the Audiology doctoral program as a graduate student, and 2. Good academic standing with a minimum 3.5 cumulative GPA or better.

Audiology Scholarship: Two awards of varying amount (usually $500 per award, contingent upon available funding) are provided for Au.D. students in the 2nd to 4th year of the program. One award is for clinical excellence and one is for service to the department or the profession.

Better Hearing Institute Fellowship - This variable level award is open to Au.D. students at any level. This endowed account was established by two owners of a local Beltone practice. They wished to honor a blind audiology student who trained in their practice. They have requested that special consideration go to students in the Au.D. program with special needs, but the scholarship is open to all Au.D. students.

Graduate Student Scholarships (SLP M.S. or Au.D.)

Zina Rose Sanders Endowed Scholarship - This variable level award goes to a graduate student who exemplifes Zina Rose Sanders spirit of overcoming adversity. Although Zina eventually succumbed to her battle with cancer while she was a student at Towson, the faculty will always remember her indomintable spirit.

Graduation Awards (SLP M.S., Au.D., UG SPPA)

Class of '23 Endowment Award - The Class of '23 established an endowment that provides a variable level award at graduation for one student in each of the three programs in the department. Faculty vote on the recipient from a list of the highest ranked students in each program. Students who receive the award exemplify academic excellence, leadership, service, and other qualities expected of program graduates.