On Stage

2023-2024 Season

How to catch creation production flyer

How to Catch Creation

by Christina Anderson
Directed by Danielle Drakes
March 7-14
Center for the Arts Studio Theatre

This is the story of a couple drifting apart, of a once-incarcerated man determined to adopt a child, and a single female academic who has lost her way professionally and personally. How to Catch Creation takes place in the present when two couples find their lives unexpectedly connected with the life of a Black queer feminist writer from the 1960s. This intergenerational portrayal of queer relationships of color allows us to grapple with our own definitions of family, love and the universal act of creation.

This production contains strong language and themes of queer intimacy.

A year with frog and toad production flyer

A Year with Frog and Toad

Books and Lyrics by Willie Reale
Music by Robert Reale
Directed by Chris Carcione
May 3-11
Center for the Arts Mainstage

Arnold Lobel's treasured characters hop from page to stage in a story of friendship and adventure. This whimsical show follows two great friends – the cheerful, popular Frog and the rather grumpy Toad – through four fun-filled seasons. The two best friends celebrate and rejoice in the differences that make them unique and special. Part vaudeville, part make believe... all charm, A Year with Frog and Toad tells the story of a friendship that endures throughout the seasons, in an exuberant  musical for the whole family.

Marder Productions

Love at First Wright: A festival of new plays!

February 21-24, 2024
Center for the Arts Ruth Marder Studio Theatre

Love at First Wright: a festival of new plays! will present readings of over 25 new plays by Towson undergraduate and graduate students and recent alumni. Evenings will feature readings of one-minute, ten-minute, and one-act plays and the all-day event on Saturday will feature readings of 3 full-length plays by recent TU graduates.

Tickets are free. For a full listing of plays and times, click here.

Student Studio Productions

One Act Plays are performed in the same night.

The Bear

by Anton Chekhov
Translated by Paul Schmidt
Directed by Will Memmott
March 27-30
Center for the Arts Ruth Marder Studio Theatre

Key Exchange

by Kevin Wade
Directed by David Norris
March 27-30
Center for the Arts Ruth Marder Studio Theatre


by Ian Finley
Directed by Maxwell "Mack" Leeuwen
April 17-20
Center for the Arts Ruth Marder Studio Theatre

The Reaper Files

by Davin Banks
Directed by Skylar Shaffer
April 17-20
Center for the Arts Ruth Marder Studio Theatre

MFA Productions

Becoming Wendy

Written and Directed by Alanna Kiewe
March 7-9
Center for the Arts Ruth Marder Studio Theatre

Becoming Wendy, an adaptation written and directed by Alanna Kiewe, explores the growing pains that come with getting older. Centering on Wendy's forays into adulthood, the story focuses on the often overlooked aspects of growing up in a male dominated society… Pointing a lens at what happens when society expects girls to grow up and take responsibility while boys are forever excused for their behavior, the boy who never grows up takes a much darker tone. However, as all adults know, growing up isn't all bad, there's a lot of fun and joy to discover when one learns to trust themselves, understand their body, and embrace their sexuality.

Recommended for mature audiences due to moments of sexual intimacy and partner violence depicted onstage.

Talkback after the March 9th, 2 p.m. performance.

The Liminal Collective Presents: "An In-Between"

Created by Kai DonDero
April 5-6
Center for the Arts Studio Theatre

LIMINAL: occupying a position at, or on both sides of, a boundary or threshold.

The Liminal Collective Presents: An In-Between

Are you Ruled by The Binary? Cut up by geographical borders? Searching for home? For refuge?
… Are you there?

 “An in-between” is a collective-devised theatre performance interested in the Spaces Between. The beings in the play are in transit, transformation, transition - they are wandering in the spaces between where they were, and where they are heading. The spaces between their Fate, and their Reality - Death and life, knowing and unknowing - the mythic characters in the play must change, and they must listen to the stories trapped within their bodies. 

MFA Candidate Kai DonDero will support the collaboration with their skills and toolsets as a playwright and director and deviser, with the aim of creating a cohesive, engaging and transformative performance.


Created by Tracy "Symphony" Hall
April 21
Center for the Arts Studio Theatre

We are an infusion of creators from interdisciplinary artistic frameworks who have joined forces with one vision: to bring about social change. CircUs is a production that will take audiences on a whimsical adventure through Baltimore. This show is a three-ring circus in true Choreopoem style. The essence of this work is to remind some, and make others aware.

Not recommended for children.