Faculty Recognition

Our faculty are an important and vital part of all we do.  We take great pride in recognizing their achievements in teaching, scholarship, research, creative activity, public service, and mentoring.

alison mccartney
Professor Alison McCartney (Political Science), was recognized for excellence in mentoring by the USM Board of Regents in 2009. McCartney is the co-designer of the Model United Nations Simulation, which she has run since its inception.

TU Distinguished Faculty Service Award

The Distinguished Faculty Service Award is the most prestigious faculty honor at Towson University. It is given to a faculty member who has dedicated 20 or more years to higher education at Towson University, or at TU and other professional employers in their field.

award Criteria

Among the factors to be considered are:

  • extraordinary effort as a teacher and/or scholar
  • extraordinary service for 20 or more years to the institution and/or professional
  • a balance of achievement in teaching, scholarship, and service to the institution and/or professional
  • evidence of direct impact and involvement with students

selection process

Each September, a call for faculty nominations is posted in Towson Tigers Today (T3). Any member of the university community may nominate a TU faculty member that meets the criteria.

The recipient will be an individual who has made a significant contribution through his or her teaching, scholarship, and participation in university affairs. The recipient of the award will receive $2,500 and be presented with the award during the Winter Commencement for their respective college. Nomination forms are due by October 13. Please contact  for additional information about the selection process. 

As is academic rigor, faculty excellence is embedded in our culture and the preparation of our students and graduates. ”


University System of Maryland Board of Regent's Faculty Awards

The Board of Regents' Faculty Awards are the highest honor presented by the Board of Regents to exemplary faculty members within the University System of Maryland (USM). These awards publicly recognize distinguished performance in 1) Teaching, 2) Scholarship, Research, or Creative Activity, 3) Public Service, 4) Mentoring, and 5) Innovation on the part of faculty members. Each award carries a $2,000 prize provided by the institutions and the University System of Maryland Foundation.

Towson University’s Institutional Faculty Nominating Committee submitted its recommendations to President Schatzel for consideration.  Final nominations of outstanding TU faculty whose efforts have fueled exceptional teaching, research, service and innovation were then forwarded to the USM Office of Academic Affairs for final selection.

2018 Regents’ Faculty Award Nominees


  • Siddarth Kaza, Ph.D. -  Dr. Kaza Department of Computer Science, FCSM) has pursued a groundbreaking pedagogical research agenda focused on cybersecurity education while at TU. He has an extensive record of publication and extramural finding as well. 
  • Pamela Lottero-Perdue, Ph.D. - At TU, Dr. Lottero-Perdue (Department of Physics, Astronomy and Geosciences, FCSM) is well known for her incredible work ethic, extreme preparedness, logical thinking, and dedication to her profession. Her classes are very rigorous and her course evaluations are near perfect.


  • Clare Muhoro, Ph.D. - In addition to completing a fellowship with the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID), Dr. Muhoro's (Department of Chemistry, FCSM) public service profile also includes her national and international work coaching women scientists and engineers.
  • Marlene A. Riley, OTR - Ms. Riley's (Department of Occupational Therapy and Occupational Science, CHP) community-based service contributions demonstrate her commitment to supporting people of all abilities and modeling professional outreach, leadership, and community consultation practice to others.


  • Yingying Shao, Ph.D. - Dr. Shao's (Department of Finance, CBE) scholarly contributions have made a significant impact on the development of financial regulation policies in the U.S. and abroad. Her research is highly regarded in academia, government and the business community.
  • Vera Smolyaninova, Ph.D. - Dr. Smolyaninova's (Department of Physics, Astronomy and Geosciences, FCSM)] research has resulted in more than 60 publications in refereed journals, 100 conference presentations, and a U.S. patent. She often"re-invents" herself in response to new research trends.

2017 USM Regents’ Faculty Awardees

The six 2017 honorees, listed below, are the most TU has ever had in one year.

excellence in Teaching

Excellence in Mentoring

Excellence in Public Service

Excellence in Scholarship, Research or Creative Activity