University Assessment Council

Overview and Responsibilities

The purpose of the University Assessment Council shall be to provide guidance, structure, and support for the assessment of student learning and institutional effectiveness throughout the institution. Assessment is the ongoing process of establishing clear, measurable expected outcomes; systematically gathering, analyzing, and interpreting evidence to determine how well perform­ance matches those expectations; and using the resulting information to understand and improve student learning as well as measure the effectiveness of Towson University in meeting student learning and institutional outcomes. Student learning includes the knowledge, skills, attitudes, and personal development attained through curricular, co-curricular, and out-of-class learning experiences.

  1. To serve as a consultant and advisory body to the University community on matters pertaining to the University assessment program, working closely with the Office of Assessment.
  2. To make recommendations to the University community regarding the implementation of the University assessment program, including participating in/providing feedback on Middle States Accreditation activities as needed.
  3. To make recommendations to the University Senate regarding policies pertaining to the University assessment program.
  4. To conduct studies pertaining to assessment as initiated by the Council or requested by the University Senate or the University community and to submit recommendations resulting from these studies.
  5. To assist the University community in long-range planning for the improvement and enhancement of the University.
  6. To receive requests for access to assessment information and to decide upon the disposition of such requests.
  7. To assume responsibility for the further development of the University assessment program and for the data it generates to support the subsequent institutionalization of assessment. To provide guidance and technical support on issues related to assessment.
  8. To provide an annual report to the University Senate.


Name Department College Term Expiration
Connie Anderson Interprofessional Health Studies CHP  
Karen Doneker, Chair Family Studies and Community Development CLA  
Terry Ewell Music COFAC 2018
Erin Fehskens English CLA 2020
Susan Flaherty Finance CBE 2018
Joyce Garcynski Library At Large 2017
Sara Hooks Early Childhood Education COE 2020
Sandy Spitzer Mathematics FCSM 2019

Subcommittee Representatives

Name Department
Marina Cooper Chair, Subcommittee on Institutional Effectiveness (SIE)
Jana Varwig  Chair, Subcommittee on Student Affairs Assessment (SSAA) 
Susan Flaherty  Chair, Subcommittee on Student Learning Assessment (SSLA)


Name role/ Department
Elizabeth Carbone Representative, Division of University Advancement
Janet DeLany Representative, Office of Graduate Studies
Abram Fox Representative, Honors College
Claire Holmes Representative, Council of Chairs
William Huff Representative, Athletics
Louise Miller Representative, Division Marketing and Communications
Lisa Plowfield Representative, Deans
Mary Ranadive Representative, Library
Ardys Russakis Representative, Division of Innovation and Applied Research
Ted Shusterman Representative, GSA
Tab Uhrich Director of Academic Assessment
Carol Wettersten Representative, Division of Administration and Finance


The University Assessment Council meets on the first Tuesday of each month at 2:30pm.

Institutional Effectiveness Subcommittee

Division/Unit Representative
AAUP David Wizer
Academic Affairs Gary Levy
Administration & Finance Carol Wettersten
Advancement Elizabeth Carbone
Athletics Tricia Brandenburg
Inclusion & Diversity TBD
Innovation and Applied Research Christina Morgan/Raquel Frye
Marketing & Communication Deb DeFazio
Office of Accreditation & Compliance Services Tracey Frey
Office of Assessment Tab Uhrich
President's Office Cassy Bennett
Student Affairs Jana Varwig
Towson University Staff Council (TUSC) Chris Jensen

Student Learning Assessment Subcommittee

Name Role/Department
Subrata Acharya Computer & Information Sciences
Kent Barnes Geography and Environmental Planning
Carol Caronna Political Science
Susan Flaherty, Chair Finance
Mary Gergis Nursing
Amy Koch Art + Design, Art History, Art Education
Mike Krach (representing Sandy Spitzer) Mathematics
George McCool Foreign Languages
Tanisha Peterkin Office of Assessment
Doug Sanford Management
Liyan Song Educational Technology and Literacy
Rod Stump Accounting
Kathy Subasic Occupational Therapy and Occupational Science
Ronald Thomas Instructional Leadership & Professional Development
John Turner Electronic Media and Film
Tab Uhrich Office of Assessment