Faculty Development & Research Committee


The Faculty Development and Research Committee is composed of two faculty appointed from each academic college on recommendation of the Faculty Association President to the University President. One dean without the right to vote also serves on this committee. Deans rotate on two-year terms as established by the Provost.

Voting Members

name department college term expiration
Danice Brown Psychology CLA 2022
Michaël Dewally Finance CBE 2022
Devon Dobrosielski Kinesiology CHP 2020
Terry Ewell Music COFAC 2021

Jennifer Figg


Art + Design, Art History, Art Education






Heather Haverback

Secondary and Middle School Education COE 2021
Christian Koot History CLA 2020
Patricia Rice-Doran Special Education COE 2022
Vera Smolyaninova Physics Astronomy and Geosciences FCSM 2020
Tatyana Sorokina Mathematics FCSM 2022
Veronica Thomas Marketing CBE 2021


Name Department College Term Expiration
Nancy Dufau  Assistant Vice President of Sponsored Programs and Research   NA 


According to the Academic Senate Constitution, the responsibilities of the Faculty Development and Research Committee are:

  1. To communicate with the faculty to determine its need for faculty development and research support. 
  2. To encourage the development of faculty as scholar-teachers. 
  3. To advocate for financial support for faculty development and research whenever possible. 
  4. To establish criteria and guidelines for the distribution of support funds and to award these grants based on the review of the proposals. 
  5. To provide an Annual Report to the Academic Senate.