Academic Standards Committee


The Academic Standards Committee consists of seven elected faculty, two students appointed by the president of the Student Government Association (SGA), and seven ex-officio members.

Voting members

Name Department College Term Expiration

Kerri Goodwin


CLA 2021

Angel Kumchev


FCSM 2022

Barry Margulies, Chair

Biological Studies

FCSM 2022
George McCool Foreign Languages CLA 2020

Audra McMullen

Communication Studies COFAC 2022

Mary Helen McSweeney-Feld

Health Sciences CHP 2020
Felice Shore Mathematics FCSM 2021
Elizabeth DeCoster Library  Library 2022
Alysha Berres SGA   2020
Marlene Grace Tubera SGA    2020


Name department
Alicia Arkell-Kleis Associate Director, University Admissions
Bob Giordani Associate Vice President for Enrollment Management and Registrar
Jackie Gabrielian Academic Advisor, Academic Advising Center
Patrick Malloy, Secretary Assistant Director, Academic Standards
Adam Melfa Case Manager, Student Affairs
Susan Willemin Inclusion & Institutional Equity Representative
Terry Cooney Rector, Honors College


The committee meets on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month throughout the semester, plus additional sessions in the minimester and summer.


According to the Academic Senate Constitution, the responsibilities of the Academic Standards Committee are:

  1. To establish all policies governing the academic status of the undergraduate University student, such as classification, good standing, probation, graduation, grading system, and dismissal. 
  2. To review, approve, and update academic policies (such as the University's Latin Honor's policies.)
  3. To interpret academic policies in ambiguous cases as requested by administrators and faculty. 
  4. To approve or disapprove appeals submitted by students for late drops or withdrawals, for reconsideration of placement on academic warning, suspension, or dismissal, for unusual or special programs in all academic sessions of the University, for parts of programs to be taken at other institutions, for any exceptions to the degree requirements because of unusual circumstances, and for reconsideration of any decisions made by the Committee. 
  5. To establish policies governing readmission;
  6. To approve or disapprove all applications for readmission to the University following academic dismissal.