Faculty Elections Committee

The Faculty Elections Committee (FEC) is the primary facilitator for all university-wide faculty elections. 

The Faculty Elections Committee (FEC) responsibilities are: 

  1. To identify positions on the Academic Senate and its university-level committees that will become vacant in the following year and determine who is eligible to self-nominate and vote for each elected position.
  2. To solicit self-nominations from the relevant groups.
  3. To verify that nominees are eligible to serve in the positions for which they have self-nominated.
  4. To conduct elections in the spring semester for all elected faculty positions on the Academic Senate and its university-level committees.
  5. To verify that the results are fair, accurate, and conform to the requirements of the Constitution and By-laws (for example, to verify that a candidate has not been elected to two mutually exclusive positions, or to verify that Senators are from different departments).
  6. To report the results before the end of the spring semester.
  7. To notify all those newly joining university committees in an ex officio capacity.
  8. To identify and respond to problems and anomalies in the electoral process. If the committee cannot agree unanimously on a remedy, or if they judge that their proposed remedy may be controversial, they shall refer the matter to the Academic Senate Executive Committee for approval.
  9. To hold special elections as necessary to resolve problems or fill vacancies in a timely fashion.
  10. To communicate periodically with college level election committees, in order to maintain consistency and compliance with the Academic Senate Constitution and By-laws, as well as to share best practices for running elections.
  11. The FEC shall not submit an annual report, but they shall report all electoral anomalies to the Academic Senate Executive Committee as soon as possible after they occur.

The Faculty Elections Committee (FEC) shall be composed of the TU-AAUP President, serving ex officio as the chair of the FEC; the chair of the Academic Senate ex officio; the most recent prior chair of the Academic Senate ex officio; and the staff member from the Provost’s office charged with supporting the operations of the Academic Senate ex officio. If the prior chair of the Academic Senate is not available, one of their predecessors may serve. If no prior chairs of the Academic Senate are available, the committee shall be considered complete without them. All FEC members serve ex officio, and are term limited by the terms of their respective offices.

Committee Role Name
TU-AAUP President, chair Elin Lobel
Chair of the Academic Senate Bart Debicki
Immediate Past Chair of the Academic Senate Desirée Rowe
Office of the Provost vacant