University Promotion, Tenure/Reappointment & Merit Committee


The University Promotion, Tenure, Reappointment and Merit (UPTRM) Committee is a standing committee of the University Senate. Seven faculty members are on the committee, one member elected from each college and one appointed by the Senate (may not concurrently serve on their college PTRM committee). Members' terms run from June 1 -- May 31. The UPTRM Committee meets the second Friday of each month from September -- May. Meetings are usually from 10 a.m. -- noon and held in AD333.

The Committee's functions are:

  • to review and approve college and departmental PTRM policy documents;
  • to review and approve departmental student and peer evaluation forms;
  • to administer the system of faculty evaluation;
  • to review faculty appeals due to possible procedural error.

A more complete set of duties is outlined in the UPTRM Duties and Responsibilities document. 

UPTRM Internal Cycle of Review Schedule

Review Years Colleges
2018-2019 COE & CLA
2019-2020 CBE & FCSM
2020-2021 CHP & COFAC


The University Promotions and Tenure Committee shall be composed of seven elected faculty members not concurrently members of college or school promotions and tenure committees, and the Provost ex officio.

Name DEpartment College Term Expiration
Susan Picinch Dean, College of Fine Arts and Communication (Dean and Provost's Representative)  

Keri-Anne Croce,

Elementary Education COE 2020
Stephen Scales Philosophy and Religious Studies (University Senate Representative)  CLA 2019
Jaye Knutson, Chairperson Dance COFAC 2019
Mary Lashley Nursing CHP 2020
Vanessa Beauchamp Biological Sciences FCSM 2021
Evangeline Wheeler Psychology CLA 2019
Nhung Hendy Management CBE 2021


The UPTRM Committee meets on the second Friday of each month at 10am (September-May).  

Forms and Checklists

College PTRM Policies

Department PTRM Policies

College of Business and Economics

College of Education

College of Fine Arts and Communication

College of Health Professions

College of Liberal Arts

Fisher College of Science and Mathematics

Joint and Interdisciplinary Programs

  • College of Liberal Arts  

UPTRM Resources